8:59 pm - Wednesday April 23, 2014

Singh VS Kaur Review – Great Job!!

Singh vs Kaur Review

Review | Movie Info | Discuss in Community

Hello.. This is Bricktop and I’m back and I’ll be writing a hardcore honest review. If you can’t take the truth then don’t read it. For those who do not like to go into the details and just want the opinion, here’s the quick review- I liked this movie and in all probability you will like it too.

Now I’ll be going into the details and why I liked it. There are a lot of other things that I didn’t like and I will mention them too. Because I think faults are more important than the rights. So, here is my review for the very few who will be reading it.

First off, thanks to Punjabiportal.com for buying me the tickets and inviting me to write the review. I wish you keep doing that and no one steals my job. But, a bigger thanks for telling me to write an honest review without any obligations. I’ll try to do the best I can and will try not to make you regret.

Right! To the movie then. Both Singh and Kaur did their job very well. Gippy Grewal. I don’t know what he has eaten since Carry on Jatta, at least when it comes to acting, he has greatly improved upon his comic timings and improvisational skills. You can notice in the movie that most of the scenes he has given are single take shots. Somehow he has become very spontaneous. This was completely missing in Carry on Jatta. So, congratulations Mr. Grewal, you’ve rightfully earned my respect and you will be earning a lot of respect from the audience as well. Now we have proper competition in Punjabi Cinema.

Second up, Surveen Chawla. Everyone who’s reading this review please get-up from your chairs and give her a round of applause. She deserves it. She could have cracked jokes, she could have gone into farcical comedy, she could have done a lot of things to capture screen but she didn’t do any of that. Instead, she decided to stick to her character. I see a lot of potential in her and I think she deserves better characters where she can show her acting skills. Well for one, I’m waiting to see her in more movies.

It was nice to see Japji Khaira in a decent role… yet again. She looked amazingly beautiful while she was in Canada. But, something went terribly wrong with her make-up when she comes back to Punjab. Her acting was good but she wasn’t able to do anything extraordinary. In all fairness she was just there and that’s all.

Binnu Dhillon. There’s nothing that he can’t do. It’s the director’s job to limit his character so that he doesn’t overpower others. In Singh vs Kaur Navniat Singh has successfully done that and gave Binnu Dhillon just as much screen presence as he deserved. Binnu Dhillon is great, there’s no need for me to tell you how great he is. We all know he deserves his own movie now. The same goes for BN Sharma. Good.

singh vs kaur Tickets

Rest of the cast has done well. Karamjit Anmol deserved a bigger role. I think he could have used this character in a bigger role in some other movie because in this movie he has been wasted. Seriously, if you even remove him from the movie it won’t make a difference. That’s how unnecessary his role in the movie was. Same has to be said about Jelly. He was done injustice to as well.

The girl who played Sapna was the weakest when it comes to acting. Diljit Kaur was also quite average in the role of Gippy’s mother. In fact I’m sick and tired of the same clichéd mother roles that we see in all Punjabi movies. They always act the same, they always have same mannerisms, same dialogues. Most of the time they are shown as simple women of village, but still they wear matching lipstick and jewelry at home. Please, I beg you, do something creative with these kind of roles.

A special mention for the character of Roop. Even though he had a minor role, he did well. In my opinion he could have been more evil.

Costumes of the movie also deserve a special mention as they were really good. However the same cannot be said about the background score which was too loud at times. And, at times I felt as if I was watching Grand Opera.

Frankly speaking by now I’m done with praising the movie. Now I’ll like to talk about the problems with it. Most of you will find them hard to stomach, but I just watch the movies in too much detail. These issues might not even matter to most of the viewers, but nonetheless they are issues.

Singh vs Kaur

First off, action sequences. Except for the first one, the rest of them were average. Gippy did his part quite well and I don’t mind him doing more of it in his next films. He was kicking and punching rather well, but the scenes were more about stylized running shots and less about actual fighting. It seems the flying kicks and 360 jumps are coming back into Punjabi cinema. The same gundas were being beaten again and again. One of them was even wearing same blue pants in two separate scenes.

Next up a lot of abrupt editing. In the first half a number of scenes jumped into one another quite harshly. In some scenes the dialogues were not going with the lip movement. The entire song “Masi de Gayi c” was a fiasco. Sometimes Gippy was lip syncing slower than the song itself. I’m 100% sure it was shot without permission with a hand held and disguised camera. In most of the scenes you could see the shadow of the camera man falling on Gippy. I’m very sure that no additional lighting was used in this song.

There were a couple of continuity errors as well. Gippy parks his bullet in front of the Bhoond when Surveen leaves for the second time. You can even see it when Surveen asks the driver to go. But when the scene shifts, it magically disappears.

When Gippy and Binnu are sitting in front of the laptop in the scene where they see Surveen’s photograph for the first time, Binnu’s laptop is off. It’s quite visible and I’m sure everyone will notice that. Avtar Gill’s beard was falling off in the scene where he challenges Gippy at his home.

Also the scene with Surveen and her mother along with Rana Jung Bahadar at her supposed to be ultra rich mansion in Canada was meant to be shot in Canada, whereas it was quite obvious that it was shot in Punjab in a normal house.

As for the story, I found it week. More emphasis was given on comedy scenes and they were stretched to huge lengths without any relevance with movie. The whole premise was Gippy’s lies for keeping her mother happy and have villagers off his back. He even goes to Canada wasting 7 lakhs of his money, but when it comes to wrap up the film, they simply finish it off in one single scene at Gurudwara. Gippy cries and his mother forgive him. What about the villagers? Why create such an elaborate network of lies when it was so easy to get rid of it all.

The whole Japji Khehra and her family taking Gippy for their son-in-law is lifted from Dhai Akshar Prem Ke. Even this plot is simply killed by Sardar Sohi simply saying “I knew it all”.

But most of all I hated the scene where Gippy abuses and that too 3 times. Maybe many of you guys will like it and don’t mind the abusive language. Going as far as “Saala” is one thing, but proper BC? That was sick. The worst was that they bleeped it out. If you have so many guts, why don’t you show it as you shot it.

And one last thing, the movie should have been titled Singh and Kaur. The audience in the theater enjoyed it, and so did I. Gippy’s comedy makes it worth the ticket. It will probably do quite well on box office, but Punjabi Cinema seems to be going towards farcical movies. There seems to be no initiative towards serious cinema. Well, maybe one step at a time. Singh Vs Kaur is good. It will work. The best Punjabi film in 2013 so far.
(4432)

Filed in: Movie Review, Punjabi Movies

You might also like

Pinky Moge Wali Review Review | Movie Info | Discuss in Community Pinky Moge Wali Review This movie isn't as bad as everyone...
Power Cut Review Review | Movie Info | Discuss in Community Power Cut Review by Punjabiportal Members I’ve always...
Buraah Review Review | Movie Info | Discuss in Community Buraah Review by credible Punjabiportal members Saw...
Singh vs Kaur – Gippy Grewal, Surveen Chawla & Japji Khaira Movie Info | Trailers | Posters | Movie Images/Working Stills | Discuss in Community Info Singh vs...
Saadi Love Story Review Review | Movie Info | Discuss in Community What an amazing film and what great entertainment. The interval...

46 Responses to “Singh VS Kaur Review – Great Job!!”

  1. Nouman
    July 21, 2013 at 9:45 pm #

    Mr.bricktip can u please tell me which english song is used in this film?

  2. HS14
    April 26, 2013 at 12:39 am #

    The movie was pretty good and I really enjoyed. I really didn’t like the houses they use for the Canada scenes. Jasneet’s house could have definitely been better especially because she’s supposed to be rich.The fighting scenes sometimes just seemed to long.

  3. Harnek
    February 25, 2013 at 11:40 pm #

    It is the comedians who are keeping Punjabi movies afloat. Gippy Grewal doesn’t know either singing or acting!

    excuse me! I do want to give him credit for singing one good song Channa in movie JMDL.

    • March 2, 2013 at 4:23 pm #

      ini achi nai ha ..so so ha…avg movie ha ..bus ek jagah te apne ap hassa aya..jado photo khichda ha te ode papa da phn a janda ha te jadoo ohnu mar paindi ha..

  4. Rajiv
    February 25, 2013 at 5:51 am #

    movie was average. First 30 minutes were good but dragged afterwards. Kash pehlam review parea hunda paise te time bach jana si

  5. Gunjan
    February 24, 2013 at 2:38 am #

    I loved Gippy in the film. He was so good. yaaaay….

  6. Dharam
    February 23, 2013 at 10:23 pm #

    Movie was very good..but they could have been a bit tight with the editing ….could have easily shaved off 20 minutes or so ….

  7. Meenal
    February 23, 2013 at 5:31 am #

    Meinu movie theek laggi, par problems jaroor c us vich. Meinu review v theek lagya, koi ajeeb gal ni laggi. aayi ta mein review lai c, par ethe comments… waheguru.. waheguru.. Poora english da muqabla chal reha… Film nalon jiyada problem sabnu eh lagdi a k eh review eddan kyon likya. Bai meinu ta wadiya lagya.. enne aukhe hon wali ta koi galni jinne aukhe tusi hoye hoye o.

  8. KHARKUSAINI
    February 23, 2013 at 2:27 am #

    every scene has been stolen from hindi movies…this is not a Punjabi cinema….

    your review of the movie is a joke. I spent 2 1/2 agonizing hours trying to figure out the storyline and plot of this movie. I left the theater still not knowing what the point was. What a waste of time! Yes the acting performances were notable – but look at the meaty, dialogue-laden script! It was all performance, no movie. I did not care about these characters by the end. The entire movie was stagnant, unfortunately leaving me antsy and wondering what all these random scenes were for

    Just a strange, weird movie that I would never recommend to anyone.

    • ma_boli_punjabi
      February 23, 2013 at 12:27 pm #

      Wow, you seem to be very bitter.
      Every scene has been stolen? Sir, please do the honours and list 10 scenes and where they were copied from?
      What were your expectations when you went for the movie?

      The story and plot had been dumbed down to such a level that even a child would understand but I guess some people still need to be spoonfed. Maybe next time onwards, the film makers will give a copy of the timeline along with the movie ticket receipt so that specially abled people like our friend here get the story.

  9. Paul Dhillon
    February 22, 2013 at 7:29 am #

    Relax Mr. Bricktop. Is that even a name of just another one of your ego trips and you have tenacity to complain whether mine is real. I don’t really think much of your review. My input was that don’t go on a personal ego trip and just talk about the movie. A professional movie reviewer doesn’t insert himself into the review like you do. I review movies, even Punjabi ones, in Canada. You can do more justice to your readers by sticking to the film, its story and the characters and not saying – how you tell it like it is. Nobody really cares about who you are – just what you are reviewing. Stay professional and not insert yourself into the review. And box office results are not necessarily a reflection of the filmmaker’s talent. Good movies are good regardless if they become hits and bad reviews are bad reviews despite the reviewer’s penchant for self glory.

    • bricktop
      February 22, 2013 at 5:14 pm #

      I really don’t expect you to be able to understand the intricacies of my Username. And I have no complaints regarding your name either.. you could be Jack, Jill or Dick.. whatever.. doesn’t matter. What matters is that you say that you review movies in Canada and in your first comment you declared that in all probability you aren’t going to watch the movie anyway. So what kind of reviewer are you if you are not even going to see this movie?

      And you simply jumped the gun and declared that my review is not consistent without even seeing the movie. What kind of reviewer does that? You should have first gone to the movie and then come back with counter arguments about the points I’ve made.

      Even in your latest comment, instead of counter arguing, you have concentrated your energy in telling me about “The life and Times of Reviewer”.

      Please, try to be consistent with your statements dear Paul. And please do not dispense advice where it’s not asked for. I did not ask you to read the review, I did not ask you to leave the comment and certainly didn’t ask you for advice on how to write reviews.

      • KHARKUSAINI
        February 23, 2013 at 2:36 am #

        What is wrong with you Mr. bricktop?
        we have the right to like or dislike your review?
        u can’t force us to like you views?

        what kind of a writer u are?

        Know that the amount of criticism you receive may correlate somewhat to the amount of publicity you receive.

        //- Please mind your Language – Your other comments have been removed. -mod //

        • bricktop
          February 23, 2013 at 2:56 am #

          Good Morning to you as well :D and thanks for calling me Mr.

          I really don’t ask you to agree with my review, I have no problem with that. Feel free to hate it as much as you like. No issues. But please don’t send your trucks of advice down my way.

          And don’t expect me to be nice to you and plead for your mercy, especially when your own tone has one single purpose of demeaning me and has nothing relevant with the review.

    • ma_boli_punjabi
      February 23, 2013 at 12:32 pm #

      Man, What I would give to read one of those reviews written by Paul. Answer: Not a dime.

  10. Lakhbir Dhillon
    February 19, 2013 at 10:35 pm #

    I am awaiting for CHAAR SAHIBZADE from Harry Baweja…Trailer seems to be too gud…every punjabi should watch it…

  11. neil
    February 19, 2013 at 10:13 pm #

    @bricktop, good review.but didnt like the way you handled criticism by Paul. more professional and calm way would ve done a favor to your fans, pp fans and moreover to Paul.
    thanks.love from Scotland.

    • bricktop
      February 20, 2013 at 5:15 am #

      I like decent discussions and with someone like you I will always mind my words. The rule in my dictionary is to respond in the likes. If someone is being logical and maintaining the decorum, i will also respond in kind, but if the other person is sitting on a hot seat, i will also jump the gun.

      The only guideline for me is not to use abusive language, instead I use wit to tackle. I could have tried to reason with him with proper arguments and all, but he would have come back with more insults. Now at least he knows that I have got a bag full of them too.

      And I’ve got no fans.. but rather people who dislike me for my outspoken manner. It’s a Jeremy Clarkson thing I’d say.

  12. February 17, 2013 at 8:46 pm #

    Very good reviews….. I alao noticed the Bullet n Bhoond sceen….. make no sense at all…
    If u count “sala sali saleo” in the movie its more than 50 times..which is a shame

    Over all movie is OK

    • bricktop
      February 19, 2013 at 3:05 am #

      That was really bad, especially the scene where Gippy is drunk and talking Surveen. You know the dialogue, that was in promo as well. Really, I hated that.

  13. February 17, 2013 at 4:20 pm #

    I have actually read it 3 times.. Loved it! Welcome back bro Hope to see you in community soon

    • bricktop
      February 19, 2013 at 3:04 am #

      3 times? My English is not that bad is it? lol
      Yeah i will come down there when I can. Do people still fight there?

      • March 1, 2013 at 8:07 pm #

        aha nothing wrong with your English bro!

        Fight? You are asking wrong question from the wrong person! :P Even I was part of few later on but things are cool now. I have decided not to reply to any offensive post or at least not stuck my nose where it is not needed! For now, things are really cool. No trouble whatsoever :) relax and be Back Bricky! In fact you already are. Just not to the Guys’ corner I guess!

  14. Prit
    February 17, 2013 at 4:06 pm #

    Meaning full cinema is just passed away

    • bricktop
      February 19, 2013 at 3:03 am #

      Lets hope that it comes back with Sarsa.

  15. DrGurtej
    February 17, 2013 at 6:57 am #

    @ Bricktop,

    Reading your Review or watching a Tarantino Movie……extreme fun…..

    • bricktop
      February 19, 2013 at 3:03 am #

      or we can say,: reading my review or being high… extreme pathological complexes :P
      Thanks.

  16. amberdep
    February 16, 2013 at 10:27 pm #

    boby sandhu sahab ur review is very appropriate … this is Amberdeep singh dialogue writer of the movie …

    • February 18, 2013 at 3:25 pm #

      Hello veer. Baiji I didnt review the film. Our hired member Rick aka Bricktop has done it :D
      So your wishes actually belong to him.

    • bricktop
      February 19, 2013 at 3:02 am #

      Hello Amber, I gladly accept your compliments :P

  17. Paul
    February 16, 2013 at 12:13 pm #

    First of all, why is the review written like you were talking to some of your buddies over a coffee or some beers. It seems less like a review and more like a personal ego trip. I will most likely not see this film for obvious reasons but from reading your review – this film is badly or amateurishly made and a rip off to boot. But yet you are still giving it thumbs up. Something doesn’t add up. A film written by Dheeraj Rattan and directed by the competent Navniat Singh shouldn’t have bad lip synching, ripped off plot elements and a falling beard. That sounds like a bad film to me. In any case I won’t be seeing it anyway!

    • bricktop
      February 19, 2013 at 3:02 am #

      Hey Paul, if that’s your real name, that’s creative writing for you.

      And Dheeraj Rattan… well he wrote his own Saadi Love Story too, and Dil Tenu Karda Hey Pyar and Taur Mitra Di as well. He is not really a knight in shining armor and doesn’t come with the ISI mark of successful movies.

      And Navniat Singh, since when did he become competent? Dharti? Taur Mitran DI? Tera Mera Ki Rishta? The only successful film he has given so far is Mel Karade Rabba.

      And since you are not gonna watch it anyway and you seem to have a bad case of misconceptions about Punjabi movies, you have succeeded in making me waste 15 minutes of my life on you.

      //Content subdued. Watch your language. -mod//

    • Vicky
      February 20, 2013 at 10:52 pm #

      Paul just wana ask one thing….. Can you please explain me the meaning of entertainment for a normal person and for u ?????? reply… vicky

    • Vicky
      February 20, 2013 at 10:53 pm #

      I ll wait for your reply mate…..

    • ma_boli_punjabi
      February 23, 2013 at 12:30 pm #

      Paul here is a Eureka moment for you. People go to watch cinema for entertainment. Large majority dont care about ripped off plot elements if they are sufficiently entertained during those 2-3 hours and take away good/happy feelings from the movie.

  18. Yank_brar
    February 16, 2013 at 11:14 am #

    Don’t care about the movie. bricky is back….that’s the big news.

    • bricktop
      February 19, 2013 at 2:56 am #

      woha. I have fans, and one of them is a yanky. :P

  19. Harkamaljit Singh
    February 16, 2013 at 7:32 am #

    Great work @rick bai!

    Ps. I totally agree with your review! N’ even I noticed a lot of things! But anyways, will look forward to your future reviews!

    Pps. If you haven’t seen a movie yet, def. go watch it guys! ;)

    • bricktop
      February 19, 2013 at 2:55 am #

      I will review all the deserving movies, not every single Punjabi movie. I hope you understand what im trying to say.

  20. Raman ShergiLL
    February 15, 2013 at 8:59 pm #

    ਮੇਂ ਇਕ ਸਚਾ ਸੁਝਾ ਦੇਣਾ ਚਾਹਾਂਗਾ ਕੇ ਬੇਨਤੀ ਹੈ ਕੇ ਸਿਰਫ ਇਕ ਬੰਦਾ ਹੀ review ਕਰੇ punjabiportal ਤੇ ਕ੍ਯੂੰਕਿ ਇਸ ਤਰਾਂ ਜੇਹਰੀ ਆਸ ਸਾਨੂ ਇਕ ਬੰਦੇ ਤੋਂ ਹੁੰਦੀ ਏ ਓ ਅਗਲੀ review ਤੋਂ ਕਿਸੇ ਹੋਰ ਤੋਂ ਕਰਨੀ ਪੈਂਦੀ ਏ! ਜੇ ਇਕ ਬੰਦਾ ਹੀ ਰੇਵਿਯੂ ਕਰੇ ਤਾਂ ਥੋੜੀ credibility ਬਣੀ ਰਿਹੰਦੀ ਏ| ਆਸ ਹੈ ਤੁਸੀਂ ਇਸ ਸੁਜਾਵ ਨੂ ਅਪਨਾਉਗੇ! ਰੱਬ ਰਾਖਾ

    I always come to punjabiportal for punjabi film reviews but the reviews jump from person to person. It should be same person reviewing every film. It also adds credibility so we’ll know how that person reviews films. Please take this suggestion as to make thi site better

    • February 16, 2013 at 2:41 am #

      I hear you Raman. From now on Bricktop it is. Glad that you spoke up.

      • Raman ShergiLL
        February 18, 2013 at 2:29 am #

        Thanku veere.

  21. Ankush
    February 15, 2013 at 7:00 pm #

    Very Fine review Bricktop bai !!

    I too noticed that Japji Khaira’s make up thing :P

    • bricktop
      February 19, 2013 at 2:54 am #

      Yes, she was literally being cooked in olive oil

  22. parm47
    February 15, 2013 at 6:42 pm #

    brick bai …… review padh ke swad aa gea ….. bobby bai da iniciative for beat review .
    film jarur chalugi …. i could see craze about movie in ma frndz

    • bricktop
      February 19, 2013 at 2:54 am #

      Thanks parm

Leave a Reply