12:08 pm - Thursday October 30, 2014

Saadi Love Story Review

Saadi Love Story Review

Review | Movie Info | Discuss in Community

What an amazing film and what great entertainment. The interval comes so fast that you don’t even know that you have spent more than an hour in the theater.

First of all I have praises for Kalbhusan Kharbanda and Navneet Nishan, Dolly Ahluwalia and Mukesh Vohra who acted so well that it was amazing. Kalbushan Kharbanda will make you laugh in the film with his cleaver dialogue delivery. A lot can be learnt from him on how a pro acts. Normally you see the comedy characters doing comedy, but here everyone is outmatching the other in their routine lives. I wish there were more scenes of the family.

Secondly and surprisingly Surveen has done a great job in the film. She is the bonding thread throughout the film and she played her part really well. Her expressions and timing were just great and always at the perfect need. It’s quite safe to say that she did the best act in the movie. Despite the fact that her character had a very little dimension to it, she still gets noticed and gives Diljit and Amrinder something to work upon. I also enjoyed her Punjabi which was very pure. More than anything, her costumes were plain brilliant.

But sadly, the same can’t be said about Neetu’s dresses. They were really terrible. She looks great in close ups though and acts very well, but if she were to lose some weight, it will do her much good in future. She has pure punjaban mutiyar looks but in this film she comes out as a bit plump. She has sensational looks and with a little control, she can be stealing everyone’s hearts.

Diljit is the sure shot winner in the movie as I have never seen such a spontaneous actor in my life; however the shades of his characters are starting to resemble a lot. I would love to see him do different shades and in different roles because his character in Saadi Love Story was almost identical to that of Jatt & Juliet. But you still don’t get bored of it as he still makes you laugh with his clever jokes.

Amrinder Gill has given his best performance till date. The best scenes of the movie are the ones where you see both Diljit and Amrinder clash with each other. They are like born friends and enemies to say the least. Amrinder is quite impressive in his emotional scenes where he delivers his sincere dialogues quite well.

There is suspense in the movie and I will not spoil it for anyone. If you know the ending, then all the surprise of the film is lost. I beg you, please do not tell the climax to anyone as that’s the whole charm of the film. But I will tell you this, there are three surprises in the movie which will simply make you smile in your seats.

Saadi Love Story Review

I loved the narrative of the film. I guess it’s one of Dheeraj Rattan’s trademark now to set a non-linear screenplay where the film goes back and forth. But this was even beyond that. I have rarely seen such a narrative and the graphic touch given to the whole Love Story book is another plus. However a lot of effort was given to explain what has happened so far in the film which I guess they did, so that the audience doesn’t get confused. But I say this to Dheeraj Rattan, you didn’t need to do that. The screenplay is so tight and it’s shown in such a way that the whole story is clear to everyone at every point in the film. Still, it’s a nice touch.

Saadi Love Story Review

The plot of the film is amazing and it left me forever guessing. In the beginning I thought the film is going towards while you were sleeping and than I thought it’s going towards Har Dil Jo Pyar karega, but the film took completely different direction and man what a surprise !! But I must say that some of the things are quite unsettling in the plot and can be pointed out as loopholes, but Diljit and Amrinder take the film by so much storm that you don’t really notice them. I can write about them here, but that will disclose the story to everyone. I will just say that while there is a huge tragedy going at home, no one in the family is really worried about it, instead Surveen celebrates her birthday in a queenly way and everyone dances around it, while… well.. kind of kinky…

Saadi Love Story Review

Direction wise it’s a good movie. Some of the shots were really genius especially the scene where Surveen Chawla enacts as Bau ji, her mother and Bhua all in one while sitting on the bench. What a clever device of narrating the story. Immaculate. No complaints but the camera shakes too much in some scenes. I was sitting in the front row and I got motion sickness in the scene where Amrinder follows Neetu on the road.

All in all, this film is another benchmark in Punjabi Movie industry. It’s a hit and maybe beyond that. Dheeraj Rattan has brought another dimension to his act as a director and he is successful in a great way. Watch out Bollywood.. we’ve got Dheeraj Rattan…what have you got? (6627)

Filed in: Movie Review, Punjabi Movies

You might also like

Sadi Love Story – Punjabi Movie Movie Info | Trailers | Posters | Movie Images/Working Stills | Discuss in Community Sadi Love Story Sadi...
Pinky Moge Wali Review Review | Movie Info | Discuss in Community Pinky Moge Wali Review This movie isn't as bad as everyone...
Power Cut Review Review | Movie Info | Discuss in Community Power Cut Review by Punjabiportal Members I’ve always...
Buraah Review Review | Movie Info | Discuss in Community Buraah Review by credible Punjabiportal members Saw...
Jatt and Juliet Review Review | Movie Info | Premiere Lao ji "pe gayian khutian…" Jatt and Juliet has received an amazing...

30 Responses to “Saadi Love Story Review”

  1. Robbie
    January 29, 2013 at 3:55 pm #

    kuch khas nai lagi…….mazaa nai aea dekh ke………..

  2. ma_boli_punjabi
    January 23, 2013 at 6:52 am #

    @Jagserat mann: Yes, Dabangg 2 and Son of Sardar were also low on intelligence quotient but they went the whole hog. On the other hand, Sadi Love story was very vague in that. Lehmber Hussainpuri ne ek gana gaaea si: “Jihre rakhde ni pair dova bediyan ‘ch lagde na paar vairne”. Uh hi haal “sadi love story” da si. If they were going to make a drama, they should have anchored to some reality. If they were making a comedy, then there were not enough jokes/funny scenes.

    @AP: Je singers di films flop hundiya ne te hit vi hundia ne. Over the last couple of years, many models/actors have also been given a chance but they have failed as well. idda di sweeping statement ki “kick all the singers out of acting” bahut hi galat hai

    @Maninder: You talked about cary on jatta having no real life incidents, tell me which doctor talks like this: “tuhadi beti hun bilkul theek hai, bus hun uh coma vich rahegi”. Frankly it was a half baked script. which let the movie down first of all.

  3. Maninder
    January 23, 2013 at 5:25 am #

    After reading some comments here am afraid where our viewers are leading to. i liked the film. it has it’s loopholes but that doesn’t make it “worst” as many of my friends here have labelled it. its entertaing movie as was mel karade rabba, jine mera dil duteya. it’s kind of an experimental movie with very light dose of comedy and subtle romance. but i think, judging from the comments here, viewers want replicas of jat & juliet, carry on jatta with full dose of comedy (all these films were pure illogical. none of them depicted real life incidents. those were just entertainment mediums as is this very film) you do not like it because it did not had that super dose of comedy.

    one of my friend here said “for me this film was worse than all of the Punjabi films released last year.” i think he has just watched jat & juliet and carry on jatta last year. he must have skipped dil tainu karda hai pyar, pinky moge wali, munde patiale de, apa fer milange, desi romeos, sadi wakhri hai shan, sirphire, raula pey gaya, yaar pardesi and many others. in case my guess is wrong and he has watched all these then i feel sorry for his vision for punjabi cinema.

    • djp
      January 23, 2013 at 5:53 am #

      Maninder, I did mention that it’s my opinion.. and yes I did not like the film and it was too over-rated everywhere. btw, Raula Pai Gaya was a watchable film. I agree about some of the other bad films you’ve mentioned. However, “for me” this one was the biggest disappointment due to all of the hype surrounding it. So you know if you liked the film then good for you, but you don’t need to start analyzing my opinion like that.

      • AP
        January 31, 2013 at 5:38 am #

        i agree….Raula Pai Gaya was much better. it story line was so real and i can feel the characters. good work by grewal who just came out of the blue and done great job.

    • Jagjeet
      January 25, 2013 at 11:08 am #

      @maninder: snap out of your fake vision and read a real review like this one by ma_boli_punjabi

      “what an absolutely awful movie.
      Film banaun to pehla decide karna chahida ki kis genre di film banauni hai.
      There weren’t enough jokes/funny scenes to be a comedy
      It was too far removed from reality to be a family drama

      Idda kihra doctor gall karda hai: “Dont worry everything is fine now. bas tuhadi beti coma vich chali gayi hai”

      It was a half baked effort from Dheeraj Rattan. Everyone is in a rush to make as many movies as they can and sadly the quality (whatever little was there) is taking a hit.

      Neetu Singh should join a dieting program before she starts her next movie (Although I doubt she will get more work after this)
      Amrinder Gill is not an actor, Diljit is getting typecast with his performances. JMDL, Jatt n Juliet, Truck gaane vich acting, all looked same.
      Surveen Chawla was the only one who put in any effort. Kulbhushan Kharbanda, I felt was poor. Jimmy Shergill, Rannvijay te Neeru Bajwa di faltu di spl appearance si. Inna rutba nahi hai haale uhna da punjabi audience vich ki ih sab karan.”

  4. AP
    January 23, 2013 at 3:27 am #

    Please get rid of all these singer cum actors, cant we find good actors in punjab.
    BTW Amrinder Gill looks horrible horrible on screen..
    Diljit is another fukra ( kaka sirf kurte pa nahi film hit hundi).
    i think most people go and watch punjabi movie simply because it is punjabi and filmed with hi-tech gears and this trend will continue for another couple of years doesnt matter who act in movie just like miss pooja songs.
    guys i am so scared what happens if jazzy b and sherry mann also make punjabi movies…..i mean….seriously!!

  5. djp
    January 22, 2013 at 11:18 pm #

    The movie review was misleading because for me this film was worse than all of the Punjabi films released last year. The most interesting thing about ‘Saadi Love Story’ was Lehmber Hussainpuri and Manak-E’s performance at the end lol. Anyways, I hope Dheeraj Rattan goes back to his usual good stuff…

  6. Jagserat Mann
    January 21, 2013 at 1:55 pm #

    Meinu ta wadiya laggi moview. Meinu lagda hun sab full-to comedy movies mangde ne. Te jitho tak non sense d gal a ta bai Dabang te Son of Sardar wargian filman ch kehdi sense hundi a?

    • Maninder
      January 23, 2013 at 5:27 am #

      i totally agree with you here veer.

  7. Anonymous
    January 19, 2013 at 12:29 am #

    Loosing faith & Interest in Punjabi Movies — was a big fan and had craze after watching movies like Mannat , Tere Mera Ki Rishta , Mel karade Rabba — good ones , since all these singers – non actors stepped in …. i dont know if its the quality that is going down , somehow Jimmy Shergill cannot deliver anymore …even Taur Mitran di was not Big as other movies – and he is signing all c grade movies in Bollywood …just hope we have some good punjabi movies this year !!!!!!!

  8. Anonymous
    January 19, 2013 at 12:24 am #

    Despite wide release in Punjab, UP, Delhi and overseas, SLS flopped misrably at box office. Film started poorly and never grew beyond a certain level. Over the weekend film collected almost 1 cr nett.

    Film collected even poorer numbers on Monday with major drops. After collecting only 20lakhs on Monday, film shouldcollect 16 lakhs on Tuesday. Film has collected 1.35 cr nett in 5 days and week one will finish with 1.50 cr nett.

    Film collected poorer numbers in overseas and film will struggle to cross 1 cr nett there. Worldwide collections stands at 2 cr. Film will finish with 3 cr worldwide numbers. Film is a big flop all over.

    Below are the collections for the film -

    Domestic Collections

    Friday 00.34 cr
    Saturday 00.26 cr
    Sunday 00.39 cr
    Monday 00.20 cr
    Tuesday 00.16 cr
    Total Domestic Collections 01.35 cr
    Total Overseas Collections 00.65 cr
    Total Worldwide Collections 02.00 cr

    • Jas
      January 31, 2013 at 7:05 pm #

      lol, 3 crore plus is below average for a punjabi movie, not a big flop. Also, this and other movies in recent months have proved once again that you need a professional director and a good script besides good actors to make a movie work, you just can’t ride the bandwagon. Most singers are NOT Actors, the sooner Punjabi industry realizes this the better, other wise they are in BIG trouble again a few years down the road, like the 90′s during the Jatt phase.

  9. OZsingh
    January 18, 2013 at 5:28 am #

    I love Surleen, her acting and specially suits…..
    Rest every thing was pretty average….
    Amrinder’s acting was nightmare….his costumes even worst….
    Diljit proved once again that he can act only in one style (koi na kaka kad tak challu tukka)
    i wonder why Jimmy did not act in this movie.
    Neetu is gorgeous but please loose some weight (Rab kar ke).

    overall… another punjabi movie that will get benefited from chandigard fever in youth…

  10. inder roop
    January 16, 2013 at 4:11 am #

    its neither amazing nor as much entertaining. its an average movie with lots of flaws in the story. i think jimmy shergills dialogue– aene saare kamle kade kathe ne wekhe–aptly describes the movie.

  11. January 15, 2013 at 2:48 pm #

    surleen chawla sab toh bakwas acting..diljeet and amnider play good role..but film badi bakwas c…

  12. sat vir
    January 13, 2013 at 6:13 pm #

    loved it…great work from dheeraj ii !

    diljit and amrinder awsome

  13. Simran Janjua
    January 13, 2013 at 7:12 am #

    i liked this movie….loved Amrinder bai’s character :D

  14. Preetie
    January 12, 2013 at 1:34 pm #

    vadhyia laggi film. not super dose of comedy bt light comedy with lill romance & drama. overall it ws a gud watch. jat & juliet dekh k dad ne keha eh film v dekhi hai una so asi sari family for the 1st time gae c ikathhe film dekhan & meri saari family nu bahut vadhyia laggi. mere mummy kehnde vaddi kudi coma ch payi aa te ena nu fikar hi ni koi. lol. dts kind of true illogical ji situation bnati. par fer v we all enjoyed & awesome review punjabiportal. u guys rock!

    • simar
      February 17, 2013 at 5:15 pm #

      you r right preetie

  15. dimpy
    January 12, 2013 at 1:06 pm #

    I was very very disappointed by the film and I am more disappointed by this review. Bobby if you can’t risk your career than why not give this task to someone else. It, s clear from your review that you have simply given a baisd review and you know it. Hell, you can review a film on monday let film collect its expense by that 3 days , you wont risk your contacts or reputation.

    Its clear that dheeraj ratan may have emptied is creative pool by writing too many stories , how can a writer fail on his debut directorial?

    The situation is utterly stupid one day someone gets into coma and next day the family is joking and having fun? Cine, atographermust be high on dope the camera is so shaky, he should learn basic skill and then try something creative.

    Film will recover its cost but to average cinema goer its disappointing

  16. navroop singh
    January 11, 2013 at 4:22 pm #

    Thanks for reviewing, jaldi hi dekhange .

  17. cerebella
    January 11, 2013 at 2:21 pm #

    just came bk aftr watching 4vje wala show at picaddily. loved it. bhaji jandi aa film. sanu v inj lageya ki interval kini jaldi aa gya. surveen steals da show. thodi bollywood heroines style acting kiti par bahut sohni lagi. she reminds of cute characters of juhi chawla in some scenes. introductory scenes of neetu singh shud hv bn gud. it seemes as if its bn copied from mere khabon me jo aye but towards da end u start liking neetu as well. all characters r lovable and u get attached to dem as da film proceeds. da only drawback s da illogical story line. although all movies hv no connection to reality but ds one s far far away from it. jis tra film dee vich situations dihaiya us trah kdi nai hunda in reality. except ds one thng film is wonderful. v all liked it even my non punjabi friends from jharkhand liked it.

  18. gurkirat sidhu
    January 11, 2013 at 1:51 pm #

    too much of praise although wa nyc movie buh nt up to the mark of carry on jatta

  19. January 11, 2013 at 11:13 am #

    Good one Bobby bai, Well done Dheeraj.

  20. unknown
    January 11, 2013 at 10:19 am #

    Bhaji ehde wich neeru te rannvijay da ki role aa?

  21. January 11, 2013 at 7:56 am #

    Lovely movie… And I second every bit of this review.. Well done Bobby for a perfect review and Dhiraj bai & team for a wonderful movie!

Leave a Reply