7:40 pm - Sunday November 23, 2014

Mirza Movie Review

I should clarify right away that this is a review as I see it. It shouldn’t make you change your mind or make you biased/unbiased towards the film. You might not agree with it and you might find it off the mark. On the other hand, you might agree with it in unison. Whatever the case, we are all individuals and we are all entitled to our opinions. So lets celebrate our individuality. Oh and Spoiler Alert!

That being said, Mirza is either a hit or a miss. Either you’ll totally love this film or you’ll totally dislike it. Some people will think this was the best utilisation of their time, others might think otherwise. For me, it was sheer beauty.

I’ve always watched films from the technical perspective and have enjoyed the technical vividness. I’ve always forced upon the consensus that Punjabi Cinema has to move into the direction where technical aspects are given a priority and Mirza is an epic win in those proportions.

It’s really sad to learn that Mirza hasn’t won all the hearts. It is supposed to be the apex of Punjabi Cinema. It still is, in more ways than one, but what really went wrong? My consensus would be that it’s half an hour too long. If the film was paced properly and was a bit fast, it would have kept the audience on their feet. It can’t be denied that there is drag in the film, too much dialogue and nothing happening. A lot of transitional scenes and too much talking on the cell phones. In the first 15 minutes it seems that all the hell will break loose, but nothing happens. You just keep waiting for something to happen.

On a positive note, Mirza is not your regular Punjabi film. It demands a very different taste in movies. The film takes time to build itself and I guess it will be better enjoyed in closed environments. It will probably be much liked outside of India, but it’s definitely not without flaws. Some very simple mistakes have made it less than perfect. The biggest mistake is its length.

So why didn’t they cut it short? I can only imagine being in Mr. Deo’s shoes. How hard it must be to do that. Film is your child and editing it short is like amputating the child. Mr. Deo wrote the film and its screenplay, for him to edit out the scenes would have been a heart wrenching job. Perhaps that’s why; perhaps he thought that every scene was important. But the truth remains, the film tends to get boring because of its length. It should have been cut short. Even the great acting can’t save a movie if the film starts to drag.

Coming back to the movie itself, the plotline is based on traditional Mirza-Sahiba story, so it’s not that hard to decipher what’s going to happen next. However it has elements of Mirza’s background of being an undercover cop. What’s really fun is the way the contemporary parallels have been drawn. While “Baki” becomes a Mustang, arrows become bullets, traditional dresses become leather jackets and the war cries of Punjab become the hand to hand combat, the transformation is handled impeccably and the viewer does not realise that a parallel has been drawn from the ancient times to the contemporary world.

Mirza Film movie Review

Giipy Grewal has proved his mettle. He is one of the best Punjabi actors at the moment. He played his comic lead in Jihney Mera Dil Luteya and now he has shown his skills in a serious role. His dialogue delivery is purely to his character and he truly is the ideal action hero. It’s impossible to imagine anyone more fit for this kind of a role.

Mandy Takhar didn’t have much to do in the film as Mirza is meant as the launch vehicle for Gippy. Mandy has definitely looked elegant and graceful, but there was no chemistry between Gippy and Mandy. She definitely is a great alternative for Neeru Bajwa in Punjabi Industry but she has to improve a lot on her balancing act. May be in good time she will come to realise her true potential.

Mirza Film movie Review

Mirza Film movie Review

Honey Singh will win all the praises. In a very diminutive and brief role, he has made his impact. Doesn’t matter if you like the film or not you’ll not hate Honey Singh for what he did. He definitely deserve a lot of praise. He has played a role which has never been seen before in Punjabi films. His body language, the accent and psychotic ways simply reminded me of Heath Ledger as Joker in Batman – The Dark Knight. Amazing job by Honey Singh.

Binnu Dhillon and B.N. Sharma were definitely amazing as they were supposed to be. But they had nothing to do with the plotline of the movie. They were there just for the comic relief; a device used in an action movie to relieve the audiences from the gritty story line. But in Mirza mostly they distract you from the main plot of the film. Rahul Dev is good, but his character portrayal was almost same as in his previous Punjabi movie Dharti. He definitively deserves praise for his cool act and his portrayal of Jeet. He was a well adversary for Mirza.

Now about bad acting. Mirza’s father was terrible and so was his friend Behal. All the brothers of Sahiba were average. “Kavi” was mostly acting as a stick.

Mirza Film movie Review

Mirza Film movie Review

The songs of the movie could have been a lot better. In fact they could have been the driving force behind the movie’s success but they failed to do so. Two of the songs make an impact, but the rest fail to make an assertion. Thinking about it, they were almost received as singles coming from Gippy and were not really associated with the film. The way I see it, they were not really given that much of attention. Music completely failed to do what it should have done.

On the other hand background score has been done perfectly well. When the background music is done properly, audience doesn’t even realise if there has been a background score and that is another victory for Mirza. The moments of tension are given their due respect and the comic scenes have lighter tone.

Mirza Film movie Review

Mirza Film movie Review

The editing of the movie is another great job done. The film’s running length is almost 3 hours but editing was done in a way that those 3 hours become bearable, remember it says bearable, not “acceptable”. If editing was done badly those 3 hours would have turned into 6 hours. You don’t feel a single jerk and scenes shift to one another flawlessly. No complaints there at all.

And now about certain perks in the film. There is an odd combination of English and Punjabi. In certain scenes English has been used to deliver an important message which totally ruined the seriousness of the situation. The worst is the climax scene where Sahiba keeps crying and pleading in English. Maybe her character demanded her to speak in English, but it completely ruined the experience of an amazing climax. Gippy keeps talking to her in Punjabi and she keeps pleading in English. Maybe it was in the script and maybe it wasn’t Mandy’s fault, but it doesn’t let audience associate with the situation.

Another big perk is that attention hasn’t been given to the important plot devices. Some very important information passes in seconds. The whole idea of how Mirza and Sahiba had known each other since childhood gets lost in the opening credits. There hasn’t been enough justice done to build up the romance between Mirza and Shaiba. Think about it, in just two scenes they fall in love. On the other hand a lot of time has been spent in establishing Mirza’s fighting skills and his intrusion into the Jeet gang. It seems that undercover cop serves as the main plot and romance serves as secondary. It should have been other way around.

The killing of Mirza’s brother by Honey Singh also doesn’t serve its purpose and audience simply mistake it as Honey Singh introductory scene. Most of the audience doesn’t even remember that scene and it’s easily forgotten.

You might hate it or like it, you can’t deny the fact that Mirza will always be remembered as a technically radiant movie. It’s a path breaker and Punjabi Movie industry will do well to learn from it. No matter what your take on the film is, you simply cannot ignore the genius of direction, the genius of cinematography and the genius of technical achievement. While Mirza has evidently not been able to win all the hearts, I really hope that the production crews of other movies, the directors and other technical people can use Mirza as a motivational asset to make better movies on technical lines. Baljit Singh Deo is almost a passive teacher who is passing on his genius to an entire community. And as audience and viewers we should also increase our expectations from the upcoming films. Along with the plot line and acting, we should start demanding for technically better movies.

In the end I wish flaws were taken care of in Mirza. Everyone wanted Mirza to be a huge success. Everyone was dying to watch this movie and everyone will still watch it. We love our cinema, but we are also very open in hating it. I hope they make more movies like Mirza as with trial and error, we will eventually get there.. we will achieve perfection.

Mirza HD High Resolution Wallpapers:
Mirza Film Gippy Grewal Mirza Download Mirza Gippy Grewal

Gippy Mirza Mirza Movie 2012 Mirza Film Download

Mirza Movie Gippy Grewal Mirza Movie Mirza Gippy Grewal (4836)

Filed in: Movie Review, Punjabi Movies

You might also like

Power Cut Review Review | Movie Info | Discuss in Community Power Cut Review by Punjabiportal Members I’ve always...
Unreleased Mirza Movie Artworks On 6th April Punjabi Film Mirza starring Gippy Grewal is releasing which is the biggest Punjabi film...
Pinky Moge Wali Review Review | Movie Info | Discuss in Community Pinky Moge Wali Review This movie isn't as bad as everyone...
Aashiq Tere – Mirza Mirza - The Untold Story, which is considered to be the most expensive Punjabi Movie to be produced till...
Buraah Review Review | Movie Info | Discuss in Community Buraah Review by credible Punjabiportal members Saw...

56 Responses to “Mirza Movie Review”

  1. Manni
    June 19, 2012 at 8:21 am #

    Nav Randhava … we are talking about Mirza here where the hell did u bring Babbu Maan in this.. if you are fricking gf does not know the meaning of jatt marda marda she cant be punjabi man… Mirza was the worst punjabi movie ever.. dont ever compare great artist like Babbu Maan to these nowdays singers.. Babbu Maan had always wrote and sung for Punjab and Punjabis and even made Hawayeing Mann .. show some respect and who told you to watch his movie.. hes a living legend … you fricking view about him doesnt change anything,,

  2. Sukhpreet Muhar
    June 11, 2012 at 12:01 am #

    Very disappointing movie. As Bobby pointed out in the beginning, the length should have been short by at least half an hour. Acting wise, movie sucks. If there were oscars for best performance with a wooden face, Gippy Grewal will win hands down. Also Gippy is seen as a young boy of about 8 or 9 in the movie talking to his father, yet when he is older and while speaking English his accent is Indian. How did Gippy know what dialogues Honey Singh alias Deesha used when he killed his brother, as he used the same dialogues? Come one Mr. Deo, the movie should make some sense and this one does not at all. And Honey Singh, what was he doing in the film anyway, he has no acting skills? If he just wanted to say the dialogues with a deadpan expression then he certainly did that, but any expression on the face?? I have no idea how Binoo Dhillon and B.N. Sharma helped the story in any way. They just added to the length of the movie and were not at all going along with the story line. It is based on Mirza Sahiba folklore. Gippy Grewal as Mirza says that he is not like Ranjha who let the Heer go away, so he must also know about Mirza Sahiba story as well. Did he not know that Sahiba hid Mirza’s arrows when her brothers came to find her? He should never have let his gun out of sight knowing the Mirza Sahib story. I live in Toronto and we have more snowfall than BC, this movie presumabley is filmed in Vancouver, we have never seen any snow in July in Toronto but Mr. Deo managed to have a snowfall in Vancouver in July, just great. By the way, will Mr. Deo be kind enough to explain how did Mirza get the person out of jail who was jailed for life for killing his father? Did Mr. Deo not do any research about the legal system in Canada?The only saving grace if there is any Rahul Dev. He has carried his part professionally.
    The action sequences when Gippy is shooting other people are horrible. He is never shot even once, the other guys are such bad marksmen. When he is going to take away Sahiba from the Mehndi ceremony, the four guys who are shooting at him, none of them can shoot him and Gippy fires over 16 rounds to kill 4 of them. Out of four the alternate guys 1 & 3 fall backward while 2 & 4 fall forwards, how convenient. When Gippy shoots at the drug bust alone, after shooting he walks away and drops the gun on one of the guys and the poor guy who is already dead, flinches when the gun is dropped on him.
    Mr. Deo should stick to shooting video songs and honestly Gippy and Honey Singh please stick to singing only. I am so glad I did not watch this movie in the theatre but I still feel like I have been cheated as I wasted my time watching this on DVD.

  3. Ranjana
    May 27, 2012 at 10:12 pm #

    Why can’t Punjabi singers restrict themselves to singing. I hereby take a pledge that after repeated disappointments from Harbhajan Mann, Gurdas Mann ji, Babbu Mann (Hero Hitler) and Now Gippy in Mirza, I will never watch a singer’s film. What a trash film, and series of trashes with number of singers are on the way. If singers could be the heros than Mohammed Rafi and Mukesh would have been the greatest heros and not Dilip Kumar or Raj Kapoor. Looks we Punjabis are so obsessed by these singers that they have become actors and now actors in turn should start singing.

  4. Deep
    May 16, 2012 at 3:19 am #

    I always wait for punjabi portal review for punjabi movie and have a look at comments from general public then go spend dollars in theater. very boring and slow movie.. cinematography awesome. Why the hell you talk so english in punjabi movie. I am NRI when I go watch punjabi movie, I want to see people talking in punjabi as I am living in a land where I have to talk in english all the time.
    Also a true director, one should* always read general public comments like these to see what is wrong with the movie and then react to it in the next movie.

  5. Seema
    May 10, 2012 at 1:28 pm #

    Movie is awesome, I loved it.
    I think the best dialogue of the Movie is Jeet’s Dialogue, it goes like this(after jeet beats the Drug consumer, and Mirza says kyu kutda ehnu tu v ta ehi chitta(white: means drug) vechda):

    “Hai fark mere te ohna vich, jihnu main drug dinda ohna kol choice hai but oh jihnu denda c oh pregnant hai, te os masoom kol koi choice nai”

    I might have altered the words of it as I saw it on 6 April on Wave Cineams ludhiana the best multilplex in town… few days back, but still I loved it and you go and hear it yourself. :)

  6. punjabitech
    May 6, 2012 at 12:16 pm #

    Bobby sandhu has done what a loyal punjabi movie supporter should do and that is encouraging people to watch punjabi movies. What could have become a phenomenon became a miss, blajit singh deo is good at videos and thats what he can practly do .
    Cinematography was awesome so was colors selected in the palette. But besides that it was one the of biggest flawed movie i ever seen. Minimal dialogue’s , actor acting was horrible( and yes they are good actors so blame goes on to the director who couldnt get acting out of them).And most of the average cinemagoers are not aware that acting too depends upon the director.
    And editng was as good as done by a zombie. Every scene where director should have cut is delayed for not half or one but nearly as long as 10 seconds!!!!
    The dialogue has ended count to 5 and then you see the next seen. The comedy was at its pathetic best. Overall the only credit this film can get is that it has raised the technical bar for punjabi cinema. But one thing it is not and that is entertaining.

  7. rajesh
    April 22, 2012 at 7:27 pm #

    acting is good but baki sab bekar hai movie ch kuch khaas maja nahi aya…story line tikh tarah nhi bnayi film waliya ne…te sara music hollywood to copy kita hai from inception and bourne supermacy movie to te usdi character di nakalbi kiti hai……

    • vikramjason
      July 1, 2012 at 8:01 pm #

      Yep, totally agree with ya mate..! they just tweaked it a lil bit…

  8. rav randhawa
    April 21, 2012 at 11:59 pm #

    Very gud film… Punjabi’s in India are not habitual to such movies.. Those who compare this movie to Babbu Mann’s movies is totally rubbish.. Babbu Mann can never make such a high quality movie. Who can say that Hitler was a Hero means he is zero. Those who say there was wastage of money.. did it come from there pocket???
    Thanks Inda Raikoti and his group for this film.
    P.S Once my gf asked me to tell her meaning of Babbu Manns song “Jatt marda marda”. Her response was “Do people in punjab listen such shitty songs”.

  9. amritbir dhillon
    April 20, 2012 at 7:32 am #

    i would just like to say that the film was okay at some parts but there is need of something special, as the acting by some people was not up to date and some scenes were not at all relevant, i think director must focus on all the things while shooting that either the performance is good or not. moreover as it has already discussed by someone that in this movie some question were arised but there were no solutions to those question, like: mirza tells that mack is still alive, but he was not shown ??. marza already see that she is taking out the bullets out of pistol but in the last he says something regarding that only.??/ why his father named that car as baagi ??..etc…
    so concentrate on these issues for better results….

  10. S. Singh
    April 19, 2012 at 10:49 pm #

    It was 1st time in life that i left a movie in interval.

  11. Mandeep
    April 18, 2012 at 2:16 pm #

    In short – A complete waste of time, Gippy stick to your singing (I won’t comment on your singing here), actors hardly got any talent, WHAT WAS UNTOLD ABOUT MIRZA SAHIBA STORY IS STILL A MYSTRY TO ME. The action scenes were poorly directed (actually a joke). Directors and Producers please do some research before the movie, I can just say that you had absolute no idea about undercover cops and how they work. THE LIST GOES ON………..I DON’T WANT TO WASTE ANY MORE TIME.

    Last punjabi movie I enjoyed was Yaar Annmulle. Can’t wait for director Anurag Singh’s next movie.

    • Raja
      April 18, 2012 at 2:18 pm #

      Mandeep bai well said and can’t agree more. I am also waiting for Anurag Singh’s next movie Jatt and Julliet.

  12. Anonymous
    April 18, 2012 at 7:56 am #

    This movie was an absolute piece of ***! Little that I know about original Mirza Sahiba story; there’s nothing “UNTOLD” about this ***!! The acting’s absolutely ***, the girl pissed me off her voice is so annoying, that lil *** honey singh can’t keep a straight face and what about those 2 *** comedian and their deal with moga story?All I wanna say that this movie is a complete waste of time, depicting zero talent and no scope what so ever! A kid in middle school can make a better video than this ***! HORRIBLE WORST MOVIE EVER! Seriously you gotta step it up in your game.

    [edit]Rough language not supported[/edit]

    • vikramjason
      July 20, 2012 at 4:53 am #

      The two comedians were really great..!! ok
      now about the movie, yes it was really making me loose control…
      but the quality, it was far-most the best i have come across in Bollywood..!

  13. charandeep
    April 17, 2012 at 12:22 pm #

    i have not watched this movie yet.
    mainu es movie to bhut umeedan c..
    but jado to mixed reviews mile man khraab ho gya
    but fer v mera dil karda ehu dekhan nu..:)

    PS…m in pune..ethe pujabi movies release ni hundiyan..so cant go..:(

  14. Maninder
    April 14, 2012 at 6:13 am #

    Happen to watch this much awaited movie,MIRZA .It was a good experience.Well made and lot of effort has gone in its making which is clearly evident.Surely a visual treat but like a true blockbuster it lacked the stiching.Lets for a minute compare with “Kahani”- one can easily say that it was wonderfully made and depicted on the screen.The director and the actors were in complete control of the situation which was missing was missing here.The script and the screenplay were complmenting each other.But MIRZA lacked the continuity and was 30 minutes too long.I will only say,Baljit Singh needs an outsider editor from Bollywood to do HIS job.Since it is Baljit Singh’s baby,it is hard to edit unwanted parts ! Otherwise it seems there is a malicious propoganda to underplay this movie.Surely it doesnt deserve the treatment which lot of people have meted out to him.We look forward to another love story shortly from Baljit.

  15. April 13, 2012 at 12:56 pm #

    Gippy and whole unit have worked really hard on this movie. One can easily see that Punjabi Movies are moving to growth and prosperity. Gippy 22g you are True Mirzz 2012. Keep it up. Must watch movie for all.

  16. ricky singh
    April 13, 2012 at 1:16 am #

    3-4 ghante barbad ho gye….naal rs 2250 bhi….it was my life’s big mistake to watch this muvee…i took there my whole class to watchthe movie, everyone left in first one hour
    ..par ek cheez ne hi theater vich menu rok laea….YO YO HONEY SINGH…..rest was all rubbish……even I left the theater after honey Singh died….to hell with the rest of the movie…..and if anyone knows tell me where does mr Deo live…..i need my refund…lol….And ONE MORE THING…ANYONE REMEMBERS THE SCENE WHEN MIRZAS FATHER TELLS HIM ABOUT NAARI DE 365 CHARITR…AT THAT MOMENT…EVEN HIS DAUGHTER WAS STANDING WITH HIM…THAT SCENE TOTALLY WAS SHAMEFUL……

  17. Talwinder Singh
    April 11, 2012 at 10:55 am #

    Movie is awesome, I loved it.
    I think the best dialogue of the Movie is Jeet’s Dialogue, it goes like this(after jeet beats the Drug consumer, and Mirza says kyu kutda ehnu tu v ta ehi chitta(white: means drug) vechda):

    “Hai fark mere te ohna vich, jihnu main drug dinda ohna kol choice hai but oh jihnu denda c oh pregnant hai, te os masoom kol koi choice nai”

    I might have altered the words of it as I saw it on 6 April means few days back, but still I loved it and you go and hear it yourself. :)

  18. unknown
    April 11, 2012 at 8:40 am #

    ਭਾਵੇਂ ਕਿ ਬਹੁਤ ਜ਼ੋਰ ਨਾਲ ਦਾਅਵਾ ਕੀਤਾ ਗਿਆ ਕਿ ਸਮੀਖਿਆ ਨਿੋਰਪੱਖ਼ ਹੈ, ਫਿਰ ਵੀ ਮੈਨੂੰ ਇਹ ਦਿਓ ਸਾਹਬ ਤੇ ਗਿੱਪੀ ਗਰੇਵਾਲ ਦੇ ਪੂਰੇ ਹੱਕ ਵਿਚ ਲਿਖਿਆ ਲਗਦਾ।

    ਵਨ ਸੋਲ- ਵੱਲੋਂ ਕੀਤੀਆਂ ਗਈਆਂ ਟਿੱਪਣੀਆਂ ਭਾਵੇਂ ਕਿ ਬੇਹੱਦ ਅਸੰਤੁਲਿਤ ਮਾਨਸਿਕ ਅਵਸਥਾ ਵਿਚ ਕੀਤੀਆਂ ਗਈਆਂ ਲੱਗ ਰਹੀਆਂ ਹਨ, ਪਰ ਮੈਂਨੂੰ ਲੱਗਦਾ ਹੈ ਗੁੱਸੇ ‘ਚ ਬਾਈ ਬਹੁਤ ਖਰੀਆਂ ਕਹਿ ਗਿਆ ਹੈ।

    ਦਿਓ ਸਾਹਬ ਦੀ ਫਨਕਾਰੀ ਤੇ ਕਿਸੇ ਨੂੰ ਕੋਈ ਸ਼ੱਕ ਨਹੀਂ। ਪਰ ਇਹ ਗੱਲ ਸਹੀ ਲੱਗੀ ਕਿ ਤਕਨੀਕ ਦੇ ਨਾ ਤੇ ਪਾਟੇ ਜੁੱਤੇ ਨੂੰ ਸੋਹਣੀ ਕਰੀਮ ਆਲੀ ਪਾਲਸ਼ ਨਾਲ ਚਮਕਾ ਦਿੱਤਾ ਗਿਆ। ਇਸ ਮੌਕੇ ਦਿਓ ਭਾਜੀ ਨਾਲ ਮੈਂਨੂੰ ਪੂ੍ਰੀ ਹਮਦਰਦੀ ਹੈ। ਇਹ ਸਮੀਖਿਆ ਉਨ੍ਹਾਂ ਨਾਲ ਦੁੱਖ ਵੰਡਾਉਣ ਵਿਚ ਸਹਾਇਕ ਹੋਵੇਗੀ।

  19. kaka
    April 11, 2012 at 6:45 am #

    kaim a 22

  20. bhardwaj
    April 10, 2012 at 5:54 pm #

    sab to boring movie

  21. Lakhbir Dhillon
    April 10, 2012 at 4:04 pm #

    Watched it on Saturday at SRS Cinemas, Patiala:

    Cinematography, Fighting scenes – AWESOME
    Story, Dialogues – HORRIBLE

    MIRZA – Gud acting apart from the scenes where he was hit by bullets
    SAHIBA – Looking gorgeous in every single dress & gudacting too
    YO YO HONEY SINGH – Class act (especially his dialogue ” bahar aa pulciye”)
    BINNU DHILLON – Awesome as always
    MIRZA’S Father n friend – They shouldn’t even think of acting again in future…same for Sahiba’s brother KAAVI

    Flaws:

    1. Mirza – Sahiba fell in luv in just 2 scenes.
    2. Mirza keep on telling Sahiba dat they have met before..but where..remaines unfold
    3. Comic scenes were forcefully added n untimely too.
    4. Binnu dhillon’s Mogge wala kaand remained unfolded
    5. Mirza got hit by 3 bullet n still survived (hmm..a complan boy)
    6. where did the teer-kaman came from…?
    7. can’t comment to the end becoz i left the theatre when mirza’s bakki got halted. Sahiba asked “ki gal puncture ho geya” n Gippy replied “haan, tahin tan bonet kholeya”…

  22. Parminder
    April 10, 2012 at 2:30 pm #

    watched it tonight. good movie. Fun to watch. Predictable ending but still a good movie. Have some awesome graphic effects n sound editing. 7/10….in short, worth watching in a cinema/theatre…a new step in punjabi cinema.

  23. GINNI
    April 10, 2012 at 1:04 pm #

    Movie has proven that the approach towards woman has the same the one that was two hundred years ago.

  24. DrGurtej
    April 10, 2012 at 12:50 am #

    @ Bobby,

    Nice Review,

    What about the beginning titles…..Who is behind comic strip artwork ?

    For the CD release they need to cut all the scenes of BN Sharma + Binno Dhillon, add these

    scenes in the special feature section. Mirza will become punjabi cult on CD as well in years.

    Classic romance tale and undercop drama- First time mixing of genres in Punjabi cinema after all.

  25. punjabitech
    April 9, 2012 at 6:13 pm #

    On commercial level this is bound to be a hit and might even fetch 10 crores to the producer from net gross income etc etc . But on a creative level i think baljit singh deo has been considered to be above the rim director and beyond doubt it is technically the best punjabi movie ever made, but the director missed a golden chance to make it a super massive hit movie and missed to break all the records even of commercial success

  26. sandeep singh
    April 8, 2012 at 1:50 pm #

    Watched Mirza – The Untold Story Today….

    PROS:
    The cinematography is really superb hats off to baljit singh deo and the team.
    Acting was good too Gippy Grewal delivered a power performance and really suited the role.
    Binnu Dhillon and BN Sharma in the movie didn’t make sense and i didn’t find any need for them.
    HONEY SINGH was a real delight and surprisingly funny and good.

    CONS: The film is a bit too long and dragged.
    Lack of good story is the main drawback that i found.
    On the whole 3.5/5 .. it is a one time watch and though not popular amongst people but surely sets a benchmark for movie Quality. !!

  27. ABC
    April 8, 2012 at 10:46 am #

    Worst punjabi movie i have ever seen.

  28. gagan
    April 8, 2012 at 8:12 am #

    Movie was good. If baljit singh deo had taken a mature actor as lead, the case would have been different, though gippy did act well.Overall the movie was good.i liked it. Name given to the lead was “Mirzaa” and i liked it, i have not heard any of my known people whose name is Mirzaa, this was actually new to me. Direction was good, but some how editing and the pace of the movie was not catching. When chacha and pateeja seen came, it appears as if we are watching another movie. This was the flaw of the movie.
    The most fantastic part of the movie was when gippy used to take his revolver out and kills the drug dealers, waiters, mafia at the back of honey singh and honey singh as well. But the climax was awesome. When mirzaa is sleeping in sahebas arm and she throws the bullets out of the gun. and then mirzaa’s final fight resulting in Mirzaas death!!!!! whooooppppp!!!!!!!!!!!!!!1

  29. Gabhroo
    April 8, 2012 at 5:27 am #

    The 100% opening proves audience does give love to a punjabi movie. But it does expect something back in return too. As someone pointed out very condescendingly that it was that the movie was above punjabi audience’s level, no it was not. That is a very prejudiced and bigoted view to have, to paint others with your elitism’s brush. I have seen myriad movies, from commercial to classics.
    This movie failed in all other aspects: Story and acting. The technical brilliance can not alone pull a movie through, it felt good the first half an hour but then the director could not get anything going from main protagonists. Gippy and mandy takhar just cannot act. It is not hard to get another job guys. Please have some respect for your audience.
    It was a torture sitting through this movie. Good work on cinemascopy, but hire an editor. Nobody got 3 hours for film of this low calibre. Good luck for next one. If one thing we expect, it is that you should choose good actors, don’t give a free ride to singers. There is lots of talent in punjab, just explore it. Yaar anmulle proved that a good story and low budget are sufficient, just saturating every other scene and taking cues from quentin tarantino will do you good but not get you anywhere. We booked 15 seats in theatre today, and do feel that we felt betrayed. Anyways, good luck for next time. Get your acts cleaned up. It was terrible on so many levels.

  30. Prabhjot
    April 8, 2012 at 4:34 am #

    The movie was good. Way above your average punjabi movie. Due to the mixture of hindi/english and plot lines that required thinking on the part of audience, some people did not understand the movie. The movie spots some of the best serious/emotional sequences in a punjabi movie till date. Naaley bobby bhaji honey singh did not kill gippy’s brother for money. In his introductory scene, oh kehnda hunda “ehnu keha c paise laila” which means they were trying to bribe him to make him stop writing articles on mafia. Cast and dialouges could have been better. Deep Dhillon and Kanwaljit could have really shone as sahiba and mirza’s dad. Dialouge bahut ghat c which is another let down since punjabi movies are known for their dialouges. But still the best punjabi movie till date and solid effort.

    In my book its a classic since i havent seen any other punjabi movie till date that comes close to it in terms of direction and cinematography.

    • April 8, 2012 at 4:46 am #

      I checked with a number of my friends and you are right. Those were the dialogues. But they were spoken so vaguely that I missed them. I will edit the review. Still, the issue remains, the scene doesn’t register at all and people simply forget that it happened and the man killed was actually Mirza’s brother. It should be more prominent.

  31. bricktop
    April 8, 2012 at 3:13 am #

    I got around to see the film yesterday. There were 6 of us. 4 of them got really bored. But I enjoyed the film. I asked my friends a simple question “Do you guys think you are watching a Punjabi movie?” They all replied “No”. There you go. That’s your answer for the fail of Mirza. It’s not what audience in Punjab expects to see. It’s way better than that. We are yet to grow to receive a film like this.

    Frankly speaking most of them didn’t understand the English dialogs and missed some crucial plot lines. But it’s not an awesome movie. I felt let down. All the issues raised in the review are true + there are many more problems with the film. How can Baljit Singh Deo possibly make such faults? He had a huge responsibility on his shoulders. He was supposed to show the rest of the directors “This is how you make a movie”. But he has only come out with a faulty film. The film is amazingly good, but it isnt perfect.

    Some issues I noticed:
    1. Honey Singh’s body keeps moving even after he dies.
    2. Gippy’s eyelids are moving while Sahiba is picking his pistol in the climax scene to remove the bullets.
    3. Binnu and BN Sharma’s last scene was sooooooo unwanted. On one side Mirza is dying and on the other side you suddenly get a scene from the two.
    4. In the climax scene where Sahiba wants to go and talk to her brother Gippy says “Its just a waste of time”… man that was horrible. Stick to Punjabi guys..!!

    Good things about Mirza
    1. Great production.
    2. Gippy + Rahul Dev’s acting = Awesome
    3. Honey Singh’s acting = Super AWESOME.
    4. A great and a brave attempt after all.

  32. AMAN D
    April 8, 2012 at 1:28 am #

    Terrible MOVIE all the credit goes to Mr.Baljit Deo who direct very well

    overall na kudi caj di na hero….and we can’t say actor…..Binu Ji well deed his character…!!

  33. bunny sidhu SANGRURIA
    April 7, 2012 at 11:50 pm #

    YAAR APAAN SAREAN NU BAAKI SABH GALLAN CHAD KE EH DEKHNA CHAHIDE KE GIPPY BAI NE EH MOVIE BILKUL ORIGINAL MIRZE DE STORY WANGU HI BANAI TE FER VI ENA KUSH ORIGINAL TE MODERN DIKHA TA , HATS OF TO HIS ACTING AND MAY GOD BLESS HIM AND BAI GIPPY KEEP SHINING. (GALLAN KARNIAN BAI BOHAT ASAAN NE ,THIS MOVIE IS A GIFT TO PUNJABI CINEMA.)*****

    • simar
      April 8, 2012 at 11:27 am #

      Sat shiri akal BAi, bilkul sahi keha ehna desiya nu eh v nai pata ke kehri cheez nu appriciate kita janda te kihnu NAi….
      Hats off for ur review I like it
      BA I main te mere friends ne tan bahut enjoy kiti. Movi
      very very very gud attempt gippy keep it up we love u

      • bunny sidhu SANGRURIA
        April 9, 2012 at 1:50 am #

        thanks bai simar.

  34. Raman ShergiLL
    April 7, 2012 at 10:46 pm #

    Bhaji i like ur reviews….but when i spend 11 dollars to get entertained i want to fully enjoy it. This film like u said is a drag to the end. So much delay between dialouges and so softspoken. Mirza shudve been loud. Felt like a c grade movie. Akhiyan song was totally forced, out of nowhere, they were wandering in punjab. Binnu dhillon And sharma had no place in movie, they were there to save the film.

  35. lucky
    April 7, 2012 at 5:32 pm #

    ਲੰਬੇ ਸਮੇਂ ਤੋਂ ਉਡੀਕੀ ਜਾ ਰਹੀ ਮਿਰਜਾ ਕੱਲ ਰਿਲੀਜ ਹੋ ਹੀ ਗਈ .ਇੰਨੀ ਅਜੀਬ ,ਅਨੋਖੀ ਤੇ ਜਬਰਦਸਤ ਕਹਾਨੀ ਵਾਲੀ ਫਿਲਮ ਸਾਇਦ ਹੀ ਪਿਹਲਾਂ ਕਿਸੇ ਨੇ ਦੇਖੀ ਹੋਵੇ. BBC ਤੇ ਆ ਰਹੀਆਂ ਖਬਰਾਂ ਅਨੁਸਾਰ ਹਾਲੀਵੂਡ ਦੇ ਕਈ ਫਿਲਮਕਾਰਾਂ ਨੇ ਗਿੱਪੀ ਗਰੇਵਾਲ ਨੂੰ ਆਪਣੀਆਂ ਆਉਣ ਵਾਲੀਆਂ ਫਿਲਮਾਂ ਚ ਲੀਡ ਰੋਲ ਦੇਣ ਲਈ ਓਸਦੇ ਘਰ ਦੇ ਬਾਹਰ ਚੱਕਰ ਲਗਾਉਣੇ ਸੁਰੂ ਕਰ ਦਿੱਤੇ ਹਨ ਅਤੇ ਹਾਲੀਵੂਡ ਦੀਆਂ ਕਈ ਹੀਰੋਇਨਾਂ ਵੀ ਗਿੱਪੀ ਨਾਲ ਕੰਮ ਕਰਨ ਲਈ ਕਾਹਲੀਆਂ ਦੱਸੀਆਂ ਜਾ ਰਹੀਆਂ ਹਨ. ਅਤਿ ਭਰੋਸੇਯੋਗ ਸੂਤਰਾਂ ਤੋਂ ਇਹ ਵੀ ਪਤਾ ਲੱਗਿਆ ਕੀ ਬਾਲੀਵੂਡ ਦੇ ਕਈ ਵੱਡੇ ਬੈਨਰ ਆਪਣੀਆਂ ਫਿਲਮਾਂ ਚੋ ਸਲਮਾਨ ਖਾਨ ਤੇ ਸ਼ਾਹਰੁਖ ਖਾਨ ਨੂੰ ਕਢਕੇ ਗਿੱਪੀ ਗਰੇਵਾਲ ਨੂੰ ਲੈਣ ਲਈ ਵਿਚਾਰਾਂ ਕਰ ਰਹੇ ਹਨ ..:P

    • gagan
      April 8, 2012 at 8:14 am #

      Bai ji tuhanu eh khabar kitho labi…zaraa mainu link send karungay….

  36. sohal
    April 7, 2012 at 4:20 pm #

    oh honey singh ne jehra banda marya shuru ch oh mirje da bhai c? hein? Meinu ta oh scene v ni c yaad…

  37. sandeep singh
    April 7, 2012 at 12:05 pm #

    Thank you phajji for the review.. Ur reviews are always honest and unbiased .. Great job !!!!

  38. cool dude
    April 7, 2012 at 11:45 am #

    Pendu janta will nt like this movie becz its like a hollywood movie
    the action scenes and direction of the movie is great
    good work mr.deo and make movies like this raise the standard of punjabi movies :)

  39. Tarun Bimrah
    April 7, 2012 at 10:42 am #

    I didn’t find the movie interesting but this review is very true. It points all the shortcomings and is true.

    But Gippy acting was not that great.

  40. navjosh
    April 7, 2012 at 9:53 am #

    well said bobby bhaji

  41. Harry Randhawa
    April 7, 2012 at 8:59 am #

    Hi Guys , Just read the article and the comments . I respect what everyone has said about the movie. I have seen the movie . What I think is that it was a great effort from the makers. Being a punjabi movie (targeted for a such a short audience) , they have done a fantastic job. Yes , there are some cases where this movie lacks a bit. But we should all appreciate the effort. Comparing Mirza with Bollywood or Hollywood is not right . It is just a start and I am sure we will see some great movies up ahead.

  42. jassi sidhu
    April 7, 2012 at 8:52 am #

    wadiya c film. gippy siraaaaaaaa. aapan ta fun kita poora… chakdeeeeee…

  43. Reema
    April 7, 2012 at 8:49 am #

    I saw the movie yesterday. I didn’t like it much and got bored. But some scenes were so beautiful that I had goose-bumps. A review like this really helps you to see what you ignore in a movie. Now after reading the review, I feel I didn’t appreciate the film as much as it deserved. An honest review.

  44. One soul
    April 7, 2012 at 7:18 am #

    Well frankly, i am a technical person too, and knowing the Camera and its capabilities firsthand i enjoy seeing different scenes. A movie does not deserve my time based alone on the technical effects they put in, the story was more lose than waan aali manji. It just does not weave anything, and leaves a viewer hanging. I specially took time out based on the trailers, from an important assignment to go and watch this movie. Even if viewed from technical perspective, it was more polish than technicalities. I am not expecting vertigo and dolly effects from punjabi directors, but this was just regurgitating hollywood, which is not a bad per se for the punjabi industry. I would not recommend anyone to go and watch this movie. This does not deserve your time, the acting is cheap B-grade bhojpuri movie style. I am being very caustic in my review, because i’m sitting now to complete my important project because of this movie, and i would also miss 21 jump street tomorrow. What a movie without any substance and acting. How is pushing the limits in technicality and then going two steps back in acting and storyline helpful for punjabi cinema? I’d rather recommend watch grass grow than recommend this movie. If you are into brilliance, grad Mark 5D and put ISO on blast and shoot away on wide lenses. I hae always felt DeoStudios was all about polishing and nothing else, and this movies shows it as does their song shoots like bhulli visrri kahani and amrinder gill’s dildariyan. Damn you guys.

    Moral: The Story should have remained untold. Atleast by present cast. Sohni-mahiwal naa moonh karr leyo hunn. Dimaag kharaab karta ajj yaar tusin, bhakheyaa peyaa’n mein te mere naal aale saare.

    Doing too much and achieving nothing in the end. Bravo. Showing Mustang in half the movie. I have never understood how the brain of people that reach large masses works.

    • April 7, 2012 at 7:41 am #

      As I said, you would either love it or hate it. There is no middle ground for this one.

    • Jagroop, canada
      May 9, 2012 at 12:38 am #

      I agree

  45. kaur preet brar
    April 7, 2012 at 6:46 am #

    Was waiting for punjabiportal ‘s review indeed. I haven’t seen the movie yet, but had been hearing mixed reviews and this article clears all the doubts. Thanks for such an excellent take. The efforts definitely need to be praised.

    • April 7, 2012 at 7:42 am #

      Still, the review shouldn’t make you biased or unbiased. You might still not like it. Really depends on your personal thoughts.

    • simar
      April 8, 2012 at 11:36 am #

      the movie is awesome go and watch

Leave a Reply