4:25 pm - Thursday July 24, 2014

Chak Jawana – Gurdas Maan Film Review

Chak Jawana Film ReviewChak Jawana film starring Gurdas Maan, Jonita Doda, Gaurav Kakkar, Sonal Minocha, Rana Ranbir, Karamjit Anmol, Pardeep Joshi, Prince K.J.Singh, Harry Sharan, Guddi, Shammi Malhotra & Gurkirtan ji releases tomorrow on 27th August. A special media screening was held at the Downtown Square Zirakpur today by the Big Pictures after a magnanimous delay. Film has been Produced by Balli Janjua & Rupinder Chahal of Initiative Films and Directed by Simerjit Singh. The Music has been composed by Jaidev Kumar ji.

I was invited at the screening to watch the film first hand and i’m thankful for that. For a longtime i have longed for such a culture in Punjabi cinema where online websites are taken enough serious to be invited at screenings for writing reviews and criticizing the film world. Not just websites, a culture where reviewers are taken seriously and even movie watchers read the reviews before spending their money on it. This, perhaps is the first step for our new generation of “Punjabi movie buffs”… if such a term exists that is. So, thanks to the Chak Jawana crew for extending the courtesy and having us at the screening. I’m deliberately bypassing the names here as the motive here is to write the review of the film and not writing a “Sanman Samahroh” list. Here is my opinion… honest:

Spoiler Alert (If you haven’t seen the film, you might want to skip this part and head to the Review directly)

Chak Jawana is about the menace of drugs and how its affecting lives in Punjab. It does it by focusing on a group of young boys in a village who fall pray to Drugs and behave erratically irresponsible in the village and shatter the peaceful environment of the village while the elderly watch helplessly.

Chak Jawana punjabi film Gurdas Maan release film review
Sonal Minocha, Gaurav Kakkar and Prince K.J. at the screening of Chak Jawana

Enters Captain Gurjeet Singh (Gurdas Maan) who arrives in the village from the Indian Navy on a month’s leave. Observing the bad practices in the village he decides to reform the village and the rest of the film is about how he does it and changes hearts. Not a story which really has been told before, so there is a point for originality.

Chak Jawana succeeds in engaging the audience at the very beginning with the introduction of the five prime characters, the four druggies – Raja (Gaurav Kakkar), younger brother of Captain Gurjeet Singh ( Gurdas Maan), Master Jassi ( Rana Ranbir), Talli aka Teji (Pardeep Joshi), Dollar ( Karamjit Anmol) and the “sofi” Boota aka Siddha (Prince K.J.) and increases the receptivity of the audience to the whole of what it is trying to communicate. The first “shetani” trail of these characters with Jaildar Maghar Singh has the audience in splits. The audience wonders what fun would be next but the story takes a serious turn in the very next shot. The family of Captain Gurjeet Singh ( Gurdas Maan) is introduced and the real story starts coming to the fore – the plight of the family of the drug addicts, and from here on the movie shows us the road that the five characters take in the maniac world of drugs.

The story by Rupinder Chahal and Simerjit Singh is a gripping and compelling one. The plot has a perfect beginning, middle and end. Every character meets its perfect ending except the duo Raja and his love interest Naman (Sonal Minocha). It is not shown what happens to their relation in the end, and it seems that Naman’s role wasnt done justice to and she becomes a mere eye candy in the whole process. Morover, she fails to impress with her acting skills too. Other than this, the story and the plot develops with consistency and persistence. The story is not set in any particular village of Punjab which makes it universal in its essence i.e. it can be any other village of Punjab where similar drugs, youth and politics related issues could be budding. The story is didactic in nature. The message against the drugs is given loud and clear. Seen from the psychological angle, the film excellently renders how the families of the druggies should be supportive towards them and must encourage them to live a better life. Raja’s father scolds him and rebukes him all the time, weheras Capt. Gurjeet takes a different approach. By winning over the hearts of the youth, he actually succeeds in making them realize their follies. The end of the film conveys this message more properly with Gurdas Maan saab’s brief take on the issue and how the drug menace can be curbed, and on this very note the film ends. The story also takes a strong notice of the prevalent issues in Punjabi society, particularly the corrupt Panchayati political system and the budding trend of fake travel agencies. However, one might feel that the background of the four druggies must have been developed (how did they become druggies? what were the circumstances that compelled them to fall in the trap? ) This way, the role of parenting, societal and peer pressures must have also been taken notice of and could have added a different colour to the whole issue.

Chak Jawana punjabi film Gurdas Maan release film review
Producer Balli Janjua, Sonal Minocha and Gaurav Kakkar posing with Chak Jawaana film poster

Chak Jawaana is a solid film with some great performances and excellent supporting cast. Gurdas Maan saab’s acting skills can never be questioned as he has already proved his mettle in the acting department. This time, Gurdas Maan fans will get a chance to see their idol in a totally different role. Unlike his earlier performances where he used to play a romantic lead, this time Gurdas Maan lives up to his image; the image for which he is known and respected among the Punjabis all over the world i.e. of imparting a powerful message to the youth, to stay away from drugs and channelize their energies towards something positive in life. He quite effortlessly, embodies the role of an indulgent man who channels his abundant energy into misguided drug addicts. It can be surely said that the character of Captain Gurjeet Singh played by Gurdas Maan is both his reel & real life character.

Chak Jawana punjabi film Gurdas Maan release film review
Author with the producers of Chak Jawana Balli Janjua and Rupinder Chahal

Paired opposite Captain saab is Binny ( Jonita Doda). Jonita Doda looks stylish, smiles beautifully and fills the screen with the charm and youth of her character. Even though the film is primarly based on the drug addicts, Jonita succeeds to leave an impression on the audience with her mannerisms, charm and her perfect dialog delivery. The best part of the characterization comes to fore when we analyse the rest of the characters. Though Raja (Gaurav Kakkar), Master Jassi ( Rana Ranbir), Talli aka Teji (Pardeep Joshi), Dollar ( Karamjit Anmol), Boota aka Siddha (Prince K.J.) share the screen with Gurdas Maan ji, their roles are well etched and totally done justice to.

Rana Ranbir has done it once again ! In every film he comes up in a different role and in Chak Jawana while portraying well educated, but unemployed Master Jassi’s character he once again meets the expectations of the audience. He perfectly delivers the emotional, humorous, aggressive scenes and does justice to the role of a druggie. Chak Jawaana has only raised the audience’s expectations of Rana Ranbir and it will now always look forward to seeing him in different roles all the time.

Chak Jawana punjabi film Gurdas Maan release film review
No one missed Gurdas Maan saab, thanks to Jonita Doda

Up next, Raja (Gaurav Kakkar) ‘s presence is pleasing to the eyes. Although in the first few scenes, his dialog delivery fails to impress the Punjabi audience but after a few scenes, he seems to be a game for it (seems like in the process of the dubbing and film shooting, he made his grip on the Punjabi language perfectly). Next in line, Karamjit Anmol also does justice to his character of Dollar in the film. His chubby looks and mannerism will definitely make people laugh. The fourth druggie from the film Talli (Pardeep Joshi) gives effective and notable performance. In some scenes, he actually surpasses the acting skills of his co-artists, particularly the scene where he craves for the drugs; how he tries to let go that one moment but falls pray to his addiction once again. His character is full of surprises ( wont be mentioning them here as that will prove to be a spoiler). The surprisingly splendid performance comes from Boota ( Prince K.J.), a theatre artist and playwright by profession, he delivers a convincing performance. The only non – druggie in the group always plays a spoil sport for the four others, but this lends humor to the audience.

Chak Jawana punjabi film Gurdas Maan release film review
Jonita Doda at the screening of the film Chak Jawana

Rest of the supporting cast is no less. Right from the Sarpanch Balkar Singh ( Late Gurkirtan ji), His reel life son Shinda ( Harry Sharan) to Satnam Singh (Guddu) & Shammi Malhotra (Kuldeep Kaur) – Father & Mother of Capt. respectively and the other supporting cast gives effective and compelling performances.

What goes to the credit of the filmmakers is that the other characters also receive ample treatment. There is enough room for others to share the platform with Maan Saab. Most importantly, you will get to see the renowned Punjabi theater artists in Chak Jawana. In times, when Punjabi filmmakers mostly seek Bollywood celebrities to become a part of their projects, it is a welcome initiative from the filmmakers’ side to introduce and recognize the Punjabi theater artists. The fruit is visible in Chak Jawaana where all these seasoned artists leave a lasting impression, and not to forget that this was done back in 2008.

Chak Jawana punjabi film Gurdas Maan release film review
Gaurav Kakkar and Sonal Minocha supporting PunjabiPortal ‘s logo Puppa

Talking about the technical aspects of the film, the direction by debutant Simerjit Singh speaks of his talent. Having worked with Aneez Bazmi, Anil Devgan, Rohit Shetty and Manoj Punj as chief assistant director, Simerjit Singh seems to be ready to carving a niche in the Punjabi Film industry as a Director with Chak Jawaana.

The cinematography by Krishna Ramanan impresses in certain scenes and specially in the song sequence “Pind di Saver.” Some of the scenes, particularly the scene where Raja confronts his brother Capt. Gurjeet in front of the setting sun backdrop and the volleyball match sequence; are shot with excellence. These scenes deliver impressive camera maneuvering. Manjeet Maan and Balli Janjua rendered the screenplay perfectly through the characters.

The dialogs by Rajesh Vashisht are realistic, natural and easy to relate with. The last piece by Gurdas Maan saab is a perfect masterpiece to end the film on a high and passionate note.

The music by Jaidev Kumar, and even the background score by Surender Sodhi compliments the film. The song are all situational and not simply thrown into the film. But this cant be said for the two romantic numbers of the film – “Tu Chanan Main Parchhavan” and “Paun Dendi Hai Hulare”. Even though “Tu Chanan Main Parchhavan” is shown to be there to build the background of the Capt. and his wife Binny ‘s love story, it fails to justify its purpose in the film and same goes for “Paun Dendi Hai Hulare” – the song picturised on Raja and Naman, the couple about whose relationship we remain unclear till the end. Apart from this,all the songs have a didactic purpose to them and are well picturized too. You might not find them appealing enough in th soundtrack, but you are going to enjoy and like them in the film.

But the dubbing of certain scenes hasnt been done properly. Specifically the scene where Talli ‘s wife is shown talking to her father-in-law (soon before she goes to wake Talli up) the audio is out of sync. similarly is the scene in one close-up shot of Jonita Doda and Gurdas Maan saab in the song “Tu Chanan Main Parchhavan” where Jonita Doda’s lip-sync does not go with the song. Apart from these two scenes, its perfectly balanced.

As far as the costumes of the film go, Manjeet Maan ji has done a good job by dressing the characters in realistic costumes. But Jonita Doda’ s costumes dont impress that much. They could have been better. The makeup is fine, but in some scenes, Gurdas Maan saab’s wrinkles near his eyes are visible and they dont look that good in his close-up shots. A better job could have been done just like it was done on Jonita Doda and others.

All in all, Chak Jawana is an incredible movie. It perfectly balances the ugly drug addictive life and the desire of coming out of it. This is a powerful movie with a great story. It has a good message. Aptly titled, it raises up the spirits (chak jawana) of the youth and hence, justifies its title. An excellent film that you should see if you ever get the chance. There are some very moving moments in it. It’s truly disturbing to see the drug effected lives and yet these movies are very important to relay how destructive drug addiction can be.The movie gets pretty graphic and you certainly question the use of drugs. A must watch for every Punjabi. I would like to end it on the same note as Gurdas Maan saab does in the movie when he says that we must all stand up against the drug menace because “eh saade sarea di saanjhi larayi hai ! “ (2664)

Filed in: Movie Review, Punjabi Movies

You might also like

Chak Jawana – Long Awaited Punjabi Film Chak Jawana Big Pictures Starring: Gurdas Maan, Jonita Doda, Gaurav Kakkar, Sonal Minocha, Rana Ranbir,...
Chak Jawana Film – Music Review The soundtrack of long-awaited Gurdas Maan starrer Chak Jawana was released recently. Chak Jawana stars...
Sadda Haq – Gaurav Kakkar & Dhriti Saharan Movie Info | Trailers | Posters | Movie Images/Working Stills | Discuss in Community Info Sadda...
ਪੰਜਾਬੀ ਫ਼ਿਲਮ ਚੱਕ ਜਵਾਨਾਂ ਦੀ ਸੰਗੀਤ ਸਮੀਖਿਆ ਪੰਜਾਬੀ ਗੀਤ-ਸੰਗੀਤ ਦੀ ਗੱਲ ਚੱਲੇ ਤਾਂ ਮੱਲੋਂਮੱਲੀ...
ਮੰਨੋਰੰਜਨ ਨਾਲ ਸੇਧ ਦੇਣ ਵਾਲੀ ਫ਼ਿਲਮ ‘ਚੱਕ ਜਵਾਨਾ’ ਪੰਜਾਬੀ ਫ਼ਿਲਮ 'ਚੱਕ ਜਵਾਨਾ' ਪਿਛਲੇ ਦਿਨੀ ਦੇਖਣ...

84 Responses to “Chak Jawana – Gurdas Maan Film Review”

  1. Ajay Sandhu
    September 1, 2010 at 1:46 pm #

    Bahut hi wadhya Review ditta Dolly, maza aagya padd ke, sorry for late,

  2. August 31, 2010 at 7:20 pm #

    Just read the review Dolly.. I never knew you could write so well : ) I’m so proud of you !!
    I really hope I will read your reviews at other platforms too (and probably about Lucky Ali..lol).
    Way to go girl :D

    • September 1, 2010 at 1:21 pm #

      Thanks a lot Samir veer. Even i dint expect such positive responses to my review. Let Lucky Ali release his music album, and i will review it for you. lol :D

  3. Prakul
    August 31, 2010 at 10:04 am #

    hey went to watch C J last nite … it was unbelievable to somehow manage the tickets for the late night show that too family crowd … Maan Sahib was awesme , so was rana ranbir and price kj And not to forget apni chandigarh di kudi Jonita she is sooooooooo Charming and compliments so well with the Legend we all are so proud of her .. Gud luck team Chak jawana…… :)))

    • September 1, 2010 at 1:22 pm #

      i am glad everyone is finding the movie perfect :D

  4. DrGurtej
    August 30, 2010 at 12:07 pm #

    @ dolly-
    Please read my comments in CJ punjabi movies section…..

    • September 1, 2010 at 1:20 pm #

      i did sir, i came online only today, Thanks for posting sir.

  5. Satnam Brar
    August 29, 2010 at 11:39 am #

    dolly you should start rating movies as well i think..i give it 4 out of 5

  6. Satnam Brar
    August 29, 2010 at 11:37 am #

    talk about the movie guys..everyone know by now dats its very nice review..sorry dolly..lets talk abt the finer n not so finer points of the movie..

    • arehill
      August 31, 2010 at 10:13 am #

      There’s a thread for CJ under Punjabi Movies section, that’s where the reviews should be posted. Dolly deserves some feedback on her first article. As for the “finer and not so finer points” of the movie, I believe she’s already done some of that in her post.

      • September 1, 2010 at 1:19 pm #

        As Arehill said, we discuss the movie in the topic sir. You must have a look at it and also post your views there. I would love to hear from your side in the community. To go there, visit the “community” and then go to “punjabi movies” section.

        @arehill
        thanks di :) Satnam sir must have not checked the community i guess.

  7. arehill
    August 29, 2010 at 3:10 am #

    This is a very well-written, objective review…………and very balanced, because you have also pointed out the flaws as well. Excellent job, Kudos to the next “Journalist of the Year” winner, girl!!

    • August 29, 2010 at 6:16 am #

      Thanks a lot Arehill. I am overwhelmed by the response i have got. It has encouraged me a lot. Thanks.

  8. August 28, 2010 at 7:58 pm #

    Dolly ji Amazing review !!!!!! Beautifully written. The intellect & maturity with which u have written this review, speaks volumes of the fine traits possessed by u as a writer.The best thing about this review is its totality.U have covered both positive & negative points of the movie in your review with equal ease.On one hand,u have highlighted the high points of this movie “chak jawana ” with lot of emotion & passion,at the same time u are quite forthright in your criticism too about certain flaws which u observed in this movie.This is how a review should be written.No one really enjoys a movie review which is full of only sugar-coated statements about that movie .However there are some points in your review where i wouldnt like to agree with u.One is your statement:
    “it can be surely said that the character of Captain Gurjeet Singh played by Gurdas Maan is both his reel & real life character.”
    Dolly ji,one must not get too carried away with the aura these celebrities exhibit around themselves.I found this statement of yours a bit too much.Moreover a critic’s approach should be limited to the character which an actor is portraying on screen.Nevertheless a nice effort on your part.I have no hesitation in saying that of all the movie reviews i have read on PunjabiPortal so far, i found this one by u as the BEST !!!!!!!!!!!

    • August 29, 2010 at 6:22 am #

      Thanks a lot for the appreciation Pradeep Ji, and more than that thanks for pointing out what you honestly felt. I am glad you pointed it out in a good manner. I wrote it because that is what i felt. I have also written that “this time Gurdas Maan lives up to his image; the image for which he is known and respected among the Punjabis all over the world i.e. of imparting a powerful message to the youth, to stay away from drugs and channelize their energies towards something positive in life. He quite effortlessly, embodies the role of an indulgent man who channels his abundant energy into misguided drug addicts.” – This explains why i said it was his real-cum-reel life character, and i am no critic pradeep ji. I wrote it from a viewer’s perspective and this is the first time i have written a film review. Thanks once again for liking the review.

  9. harsimran
    August 28, 2010 at 2:45 pm #

    Hopefully Chak Jawana movie Des Hoya Pardes , Waris Shah vang koi na koi National award jrror lai k javegi

  10. simran
    August 28, 2010 at 12:12 pm #

    hanji gautam film zabardast hegi hai…message bahut wadiya va…mann sahib da jawab nahi nale ohna di pairing jonita doda naal badi fresh change va…watch it 4 yourself.

    • August 29, 2010 at 6:12 am #

      i agree simran ji. They both look good together.

  11. August 28, 2010 at 10:23 am #

    Kamaal e hogi…sab ne enne changge comments ditte ne…..rooh khush hogi meri taan….nai taa filmaan de maamle ch lok kaafi kuch kehan lagge c Gurdas Maan ji baare…..par eh film meel da pathar saabit ho rahi hai..ehna comments de mutaabik taan……
    film zabardast hit ho jaawe…ehi dua hai…

    good job Dolly ji once again…..tuhadi angrezi gazab di hai……awesome….

    • August 29, 2010 at 6:12 am #

      Thanks a lot Gautam. Havent you seen the movie yet? Come on, evry GM fan should watch this one.

  12. Satnam Brar
    August 28, 2010 at 10:18 am #

    very nice movie..everyone has performed really well..punjabi movie buff term exists..i went to see this movie in melbourne first day first show..we were just thirteen ppl in the show..bit dissapointed..may its due to the last movie of mann saab n not much advertisement of the this movie though its a nice movie and deserve the review dolly has written..in some instances gurdas mann and his father doesnt fit togather chemistry wise..GM looks too wise than his father.lol. he is a larger than life character..couldnt be helped..the other girl opposite gaurav should not be criticised severly..there was not much to perform in her role other than smile n she has beautiful smile too..overall its an awesome movie..i like their take on politics which inspires to a a way inbetween right wing and left wing politics..another feather in the cap of punjabi cinema…

    • harsimran
      August 28, 2010 at 2:43 pm #

      bhut vadiya review ji

      First show vich morning time tan zeada ppl nahi aunde, because Friday morning job vgera hundi hai, Main SRK di My Name Is khan da first show vekheya c UK ch, oh movie overseas di superhit movie hai, but asi sirf 10 ppl c first show vich….

      • Prakul
        August 31, 2010 at 10:16 am #

        its goin…. Housefulllll so many of my frndss hav not been able to get the tickets….its getting better and betterrr

    • August 29, 2010 at 6:10 am #

      Thanks for posting Satnam Brar sir, i liked the points mentioned by you.

  13. Gurinderjit singh rana
    August 27, 2010 at 5:57 pm #

    bahut vadiya likhya hai dolly..
    now i am eagerly waiting for the movie…

    • dolly sandhu
      August 28, 2010 at 7:49 am #

      Thanks a lot Gurinderjit veer.

  14. Karan Singhal
    August 27, 2010 at 5:19 pm #

    C J IS A BAUTIFUL FILM A MUST WATCH FOR EVERY PUNJABI SPECIALLY THE YOUTH OR I MAY SAY A UNIVERSAL TRUTH IS REVEALED OF OUR YOUNGER GENERATION , CHARACTERISATION IS REALLY GUD LOOKS LIKE A UPBEAT BOLLYWOOD FILM .. AND HAPPY TO SEE A BEAUTIFUL HEROINE ALONGSIDE GURDAS MANN JI :))) CHAK DE FATTE!

    • dolly sandhu
      August 28, 2010 at 7:49 am #

      Glad to know that you felt the same Karan ji.

  15. Ekam bir Singh
    August 27, 2010 at 4:52 pm #

    Awesme! chemistry between Maan Sahib and Jonita doda she is really a Charmer…..Chak Jawana Rocks….

    • dolly sandhu
      August 28, 2010 at 7:49 am #

      True Ek

  16. channa sandhu
    August 27, 2010 at 1:04 pm #

    Okay! I would say I dont know whether I would go to watch the movie..cos of time issues but The way dolly has narrated the story,the cast and everything about the movie…I read it with immense interest..I would support dolly’s statement where she said that it was a good initiative to involve online websites for promotion and critics …It is a very good move..!!It doesnot only bridge the online thing and the big screen a but also fetches good promotion and targets the audience at all levels..Commendable!
    Second thing,Gurdass mann! the name is enough to support the movie! And someone tell e about the girl..Sonal Minocha…I have seen her somewhere else too…she is too way too pretty!!

    PS : Dolly i loved your kurta :D and trust me,you should go for print media..you write so so well!!

    • dolly sandhu
      August 28, 2010 at 7:50 am #

      Channa thanks a lot dear. Means a lot to me. Thanks for the appreciation and you gotta watch this movie.
      thanks for liking the kurta..lol

  17. joban
    August 27, 2010 at 12:08 pm #

    Excellent review Dolly, Well balanced – with both the pro and cons of the film. Seems totally authentic to be. Good to see punjabiportal covering the event and being invited for the screening. Keep it up !!

    • August 27, 2010 at 12:16 pm #

      Thanks a lot Joban, do watch the film. Thanks again for the best wishes.

  18. cheema
    August 27, 2010 at 9:42 am #

    suniyaa c channa sachi muchi vee release ho rahi hai but cant see review wats going with that movie

    • dolly sandhu
      August 27, 2010 at 11:52 am #

      Lagda cheema saab tusi review pareya e nahi eh wala.haha

  19. harry
    August 27, 2010 at 9:36 am #

    nice review……..
    Chak Jawana is one of best Punjabi movie…
    Thanks 4 great review……..

    • dolly sandhu
      August 27, 2010 at 11:51 am #

      Thanks a lot Harry sir.

  20. kotkapuria
    August 27, 2010 at 9:23 am #

    bahut vadiya review hai……………thanx geet ……………and all nice puppas………………

    movie is rocking………and moreover brar saab di thole wali gal badi sirra laggi…….nice observation brar saab……..

    gud work geet…………….

    • dolly sandhu
      August 27, 2010 at 11:51 am #

      thanks a lot honey veer, apne kotkapure de Prince K.J. bai nu film ch wekh k bahut maan te khushi mehsoos ho rahi c k apne ilaake de bande ne v malla mariya ne :)

      • sukhjeet brar
        August 27, 2010 at 12:52 pm #

        Kotkapura…
        rall gya poore da poora :)

      • kotkapuria
        August 29, 2010 at 3:51 am #

        oh yeah…….dats true…………even prince was happy too……………i more person frm screening met me dat nite……….he was cousin of tinka veer(the director)………he told me dat response was awesome……….movie is going gud…………really gud

  21. Harveer Singh
    August 27, 2010 at 8:57 am #

    Bahut Khoobsurat te vistaar vich review ditta dolly g CJ da,

    Umeed hai k samaaj nu sahi disha den vaaliya eho jehian filma bandiya rehan.

    waiting for CD release

    • dolly sandhu
      August 27, 2010 at 11:50 am #

      thanks a lot harveer. bahut bahut shukria.

  22. sukhjeet brar
    August 27, 2010 at 6:47 am #

    Sabto pehla ta cj team da dhanwad jihna pp nu eh maan ditta…

    @geet
    Film di kalli-kalli chiz te actors bare bauht wadhiya tareeke naal vistar nal likhya…
    baaki gurdas ji ne sir te ungal nal thola maarta… so is wari pappa sidha banya hai..hahaha

    • dolly sandhu
      August 27, 2010 at 11:49 am #

      Hahahaha sahi keha brar saab, is war te tuhadeya sareya di alochna tu bacha he c fer main.
      shukria review pasand karn lai, par tuhade shudh gurmukhi review da menu besabri de naal intjaar e.

      • sukhjeet brar
        August 27, 2010 at 12:50 pm #

        aapa nu vekhni naseeb hoyi.. ta jaroor sidhiya-sadiya gallan likhan di koshish
        karange :)

        • August 27, 2010 at 2:10 pm #

          Jaroor Likhna Sukhjeet. Its always good to have more than one review.

  23. KARAN DHILLON
    August 27, 2010 at 5:40 am #

    nice & honest review…
    main ummeed karda haan k movie lokan de dil te dimag te chhaap chadegi.

    • dolly sandhu
      August 27, 2010 at 6:14 am #

      Thanks karan.

  24. unknown
    August 27, 2010 at 5:39 am #

    Seems An emotional outcome. but well tried to justify.

    • dolly sandhu
      August 27, 2010 at 6:13 am #

      Can you elaborate a bit? i dint get what you were trying to say.

      • unknown
        August 27, 2010 at 11:30 am #

        elaboration!!! does it really needed. :)

        till then you get it, let me allow to express one more point i felt. If someone invites us to his show, will he expect us to criticize his product? Shall we be able to do so when we were be a privileged guest? Do a critic/reviewer really needed a privileged invitation to review any thing which is on public display? Moreover, are we journalists or audience or what, who are participants in public forums or moderators of such forums? Do we write reviews to satisfy our forum members or producers or ourself?

        • dolly sandhu
          August 27, 2010 at 11:59 am #

          Just one ques – Have you seen the film?

          • simran
            August 28, 2010 at 11:58 am #

            well said dolly g… i hv seen the film its a awesome movie…

        • joban
          August 27, 2010 at 12:06 pm #

          Why dont you review the movie for us Unknown ji? and hey, your English is terrible. If you cant write in english, please punjabi wich e likh lao. Thode views nu actually de wich smjhna aukha because of the terribly wrong grammatical structure of your sentences.

          p.s. seems like you read only the positive points of the review.

          • Roobi Saksena
            August 27, 2010 at 1:59 pm #

            Screenings are done for critics and journalists so that they evaluate the films. I come from film industry and i find it amusing that you have said “Do a critic/reviewer really needed a privileged invitation to review any thing which is on public display?”

            The answer is Yes. You do need to be invited at such screenings and they are not done for public display. They are exclusively done for the press and media personal. All the newspapers write the press notes when we release films. They don’t even write a single sentence of their own and just copy paste what we provide them. Here is this lady trying to write on her own and you ask why did she go there? I really liked this review and i think its written with excellence which is hard to come by in the Punjabi media. You should support it and its very good beginning in Punjabi Films. I wish we get more reviewers as this lady who can write with such literary approach. Look at the expressions used and the language…its too good and i feel its a very honest review as well. She has pointed out the short comings of the film as well.

            • Roobi Saksena
              August 27, 2010 at 2:08 pm #

              And i totally forgot the point for which i was going to leave a comment. I wanted to express my deep regards that this review has been written in English. As i have said before i’m from the Punjabi Film industry but i cant read Punjabi. Nevertheless i adore Punjabi Films and Punjabi language itself.

              I find it a very good approach to bring more masses to the Punjabi films by leading our films in the international language. Hope to read more from your website.

              • dolly sandhu
                August 28, 2010 at 7:51 am #

                Thanks a lot Roobi mam. I am glad you read the review. I am overwhelmed.

                • Prashant
                  August 28, 2010 at 4:30 pm #

                  I will elaborate the excellent point made by Ms. Roobi Saksena.

                  Screenings are held for critics and journalists because:
                  1. Everyone in the cinema hall is a professional. They watch the movie quietly with great concentration. This is not possible when general public is present.
                  2. They discuss the technical points of the movie amongst themselves and make notes about anything they missed.
                  3. They get detailed information in Press Note directly from the producers.
                  4. They meet the cast and crew for conducting on the spot interviews and photo-ops.

                  Screenings are important for the producers and cast because:
                  1. They get feedback about whether their film delivers its message effectively.
                  2. They get immediate response from media professionals who openly point out their mistakes.
                  3. Distributors gauge the media response carefully for deciding whether to push the movie in 2nd week or not.

                  There are many more reasons for holding screenings, but these are sufficient for now. These screenings are not held to bribe reviewers for telling lies to the audience. Use your common sense, can that silly trick succeed? It didn’t work for “Raavan” or “My Name is Khan”.

                  So Mr./Ms. “Unknown” person, please remember that “privileged” screenings are held for reviewers like Dolly, to inform people like you what to expect from a film before spending time and money to be entertained.

                  • August 29, 2010 at 6:09 am #

                    Thanks for posting these excellent points Prashant.

        • Sharan
          August 29, 2010 at 4:46 am #

          Unknown, u r right.

  25. Bikram
    August 27, 2010 at 5:18 am #

    Bahut vadiya review Dolly ji,!

    • dolly sandhu
      August 27, 2010 at 6:13 am #

      Thanks Bikram.

  26. Robbiesingh
    August 27, 2010 at 4:55 am #

    bahut wadia review a Chak Jawana da main sochda c shayad eh monvie Mera Pind wargi hovegi par nai eh tan kafi diffrent a……………….hun jarror jaunga dekhan eh movie main……………….

    • dolly sandhu
      August 27, 2010 at 6:12 am #

      Nope robbie, both the films are different, dealing with different subjects. I am glad you liked the review, now go and watch it for yourself.

  27. noor dhillon
    August 27, 2010 at 3:10 am #

    gud job dolly.
    article is well written.
    i like the subject of the movie.
    this subject fascinate me coz i have done lots of research on drugs and all that……..
    luking forward for a movie.
    i hope it will rockkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkk

    • dolly sandhu
      August 27, 2010 at 4:24 am #

      Oh really? Yes, then you must watch this flick Noor. May be you will be able to give more views about the subjects then.

  28. August 26, 2010 at 10:16 pm #

    Very nice dolly, quite insightful and well written. Gurdas jis special message at end if movie is in real what he wanted to day gor longtime probably via a film.

    • dolly sandhu
      August 27, 2010 at 4:23 am #

      Thanks a lot Harman.

  29. August 26, 2010 at 8:48 pm #

    dolly in punjabi we can say sirrey laati… enna wadda review… awesome… seems that film will be a big hit !! congrats to the team for such a wonderful film.

    • dolly sandhu
      August 27, 2010 at 4:23 am #

      Shukriya Sidhu saab. Yes, it will be a hit for sure.

  30. preet
    August 26, 2010 at 8:00 pm #

    Hello everyone……thanx dolly ji…also I have watched this movi yesterday with LEGEND MAAN SAAB in brampton (canada) in silvercity. i was just siting 5 seating away from legend….he enjoy the movie till the end. I dont have words for movie..its a BRILLIANT MOVIE…..everyone should go to watch this movie in theaters….even maan saab said our job is done now yours(ours) turn.

    • dolly sandhu
      August 27, 2010 at 4:22 am #

      “Our job is done, now yours turn.” well said Maan saab.

  31. Simran
    August 26, 2010 at 7:59 pm #

    mien ta phela hi dekh liya si pics :D

    nice ne saria pics :D hurray

    • dolly sandhu
      August 27, 2010 at 4:21 am #

      yepp blingy.

  32. Simran janjua
    August 26, 2010 at 7:22 pm #

    sab to pehlan tan dolly ji da dhanwad ke ohna ne ena wadhia review likhea nd pics share kitian. Gurdas mann nd rana ranbir nu ikathean dekhan da mzaa ayega. Surely movie wll be a good hit…
    All the best to whole team…

    • dolly sandhu
      August 27, 2010 at 4:21 am #

      Thanks Simran,

  33. August 26, 2010 at 7:12 pm #

    Awesome post.. dolly.. According to dolly review….I think . it film is good…. and big thanks to Balli Janjua, Rupinder Chahal,Gaurav Kakkar and Sonal Minocha supporting PunjabiPortal ‘s logo Puppa…..
    Nice Article…. dolly…

    • dolly sandhu
      August 27, 2010 at 4:20 am #

      Thanks Bobby Grewal.

  34. gurinder dimpy
    August 26, 2010 at 6:50 pm #

    i was waiting for this; an honest review; regards to u ;keep it up 7 more; will comment more after watching the movie, am in mumbai right now

    • dolly sandhu
      August 27, 2010 at 4:20 am #

      Thanks a lot Dimpy sir.

Leave a Reply